Auto Insurance in Arkansas (AR)
If You Are Paying More Than $1,188.51 on Auto Insurance in Arkansas, You Are Paying Too Much.
Insurance Calculator Inc. partners with the top-rated insurance providers in Arkansas. An average consumer saves $258.49 on auto insurance quotes with us. Consumers in Arkansas who are with existing auto insurance policies can also benefit from "switch-and-save" discounts of up to 15%.
Instant Quotes from Top-Rated Insurance Providers in Arkansas
Auto Insurance Industry in Arkansas
- An average consumer pays $1,447.00 on auto insurance
- 190 of every 100,000 vehicles are reported stolen every year
- Accident fatality rate of 1.76%
- Of all accidents: 70% are road-way accidents, 16% are intersection accidents, and 17% of all accidents involve at least 1 truck.
An Overview of Auto Insurance and Driver’s License Information in Arkansas
Residents who wish to drive on Arkansas roads are required to demonstrate proof of financial responsibility. This means that the owner of the vehicle is capable of covering physical injuries and property damages if he or she causes an accident. Financial proof is also required to register and title a vehicle in Arkansas.
Arkansas’ Minimum Requirements on Auto Insurance
Like most states, Arkansas has set minimum requirements for auto insurance coverage. Generally, every vehicle driven in the state must have auto liability insurance. Acceptable insurance policies must be purchased from a licensed auto insurance carrier.
Proof of auto liability insurance must be presented to the Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) with the following minimum limits:
- Bodily injury per person: $25,000
- Liability per accident: $50,000
- Property damage coverage: $25,000
Licensed auto insurance carriers are obligated to report coverage information on all registered vehicles to the Arkansas Insurance Database. Insurance reinstatements, new policies, cancellations and non-renewals are included. This information is verified when you register a vehicle.
Additionally, you are required to carry proof of liability coverage in your vehicle at all times. If you are involved in an accident or stopped by a law enforcement officer, you will need to show proof. Your carrier should provide an insurance card that you can keep in the vehicle.
There are penalties associated with failing to maintain financial responsibility in Arkansas. Usually, your vehicle registration is suspended by the OMV. To have the registration reinstated, you will need to prove that you have liability coverage. In some cases, a reinstatement fee is required.
Save on Car Insurance
Compare FREE quotes from the top insurance providers in Ashburn, VA.
Consumer Car Licensing Information in Arkansas
In June 2011, the state of Arkansas changed the format of its driver’s license cards. Newly designed security features are provided with the new formats to cut down on fraudulent activities such as alterations and counterfeiting. You can receive one of these new licenses in five different classifications.
The Graduated Driver’s license is for young drivers between 14 and 17 years of age. This group includes intermediate licenses, learner’s licenses and instruction permits with restrictions.
The second and third classifications are for motorcycle licenses. Young drivers between 14 and 16 can receive a Class MD; drivers 16 and older are issued a Class M license.
Commercial driver’s licenses (CDLs) are issued for individuals who drive commercial vehicles. Three classes are available: A, B and C. The fifth classification is Class D, which is issued to drivers 18 and older without restrictions.
Different offices throughout are responsible for various transactions to obtain a driver’s license. Arkansas’ Office of Driver Services (ODS) begins the process to apply for a driver’s license. Testing sites for both the written and driving portions are conducted at a variety of locations including the Arkansas State Police.
Be prepared to provide your social security number, pass a vision test and pay the application fee of $20. If you are new to Arkansas, you will also have to provide two additional forms of identification and proof of residency. As a new Arkansas resident, you have up to 30 days to exchange your out-of-state license. You may not, however, need to take the vision, written and driving tests.
Motorcycle Licensing Information in Arkansas
Residents who are at least 16 years old may apply for a motorcycle license in Arkansas. You will need to pass both a written test and road test before the Class M license is issued. ODS encourages motorcycle enthusiasts to take a safe riding course although it is not required before obtaining a license.
Some states have helmet laws since safety is a major concern when riding a motorcycle. However, unless you are 21 years old or younger, you are not required to wear a helmet in Arkansas.
Commercial Vehicle Licensing Information in Arkansas
Federal and state requirements must be met to apply for a CDL license in Arkansas. Basically, you will need to pass written examinations and road tests that demonstrate skill. In the state of Arkansas, you must be at least 18; have a Class D driver’s license; and, a good driving record.
Bad marks on your driving record such as a DUI can disqualify you from receiving a CDL.
The state provides a training manual to help you prepare for both tests. Information is also included in the manual that explains how the tests are conducted and scored.
The written test covers topics such as cargo safety, equipment maintenance, inspection procedures, traffic laws, handling hazardous materials and driver safety. Tests are given at any state trooper headquarters. You must pass the written test before you are allowed to take the road test.
For the road skills test, you will need to know how to perform various tasks. These include how to change lanes safely, making pre-trip inspections, proper maneuvers at intersections and tying down cargo.
You can take the road skills test at one of six Arkansas State Police locations. These include Newport, Russellville, Little Rock, Springdale, Hope and Pine Bluff.
There are several fees required for an Arkansas CDL. An original license cost $42 plus $50 for the test. If you need a CDL to drive a school bus, the fee is $20.
The state also requires documentation that proves your identification and age. Two documents are required from a primary list:
- Driver’s license or other photo identification
- Birth certificate
- Military ID
- INS documents that include a photo
- Court order
If you are unable to provide two documents from the primary list, the state has a secondary list of acceptable documents:
- Vehicle registration
- Marriage license
- Parent affidavit
- Photo ID from school
- Tax return
Additional mandatory paperwork by the federal government is required if you plan to transport hazardous materials.
More Resources on Auto Insurance in Arkansas
Department of Insurance
- 1200 West Third Street Little Rock, AR 72201
- Phone: (501) 371-2600
- Fax: (501) 371-2618
Found this useful? Share it!
Save on Auto Insurance
Compare FREE quotes from the top insurance providers in Ashburn, VA.