Auto Insurance in Colorado (CO)
If You Are Paying More Than $1,165.88 on Auto Insurance in Colorado, You Are Paying Too Much.
Insurance Calculator Inc. partners with the top-rated insurance providers in Colorado. An average consumer saves $249.12 on auto insurance quotes with us. Consumers in Colorado who are with existing auto insurance policies can also benefit from "switch-and-save" discounts of up to 15%.
Instant Quotes from Top-Rated Insurance Providers in Colorado
Auto Insurance Industry in Colorado
- An average consumer pays $1,415.00 on auto insurance
- 223 of every 100,000 vehicles are reported stolen every year
- Accident fatality rate of 1%
- Of all accidents: 56% are road-way accidents, 26% are intersection accidents, and 12% of all accidents involve at least 1 truck.
Traveling along Colorado roads can offer scenic routes - and moments of precaution. Those moments are more secure if you have adequate auto insurance that protects you, your passengers and someone in a separate vehicle. According to Colorado law, adequate auto insurance is required for everyone who registers a vehicle in the state.
Colorado’s Minimum Requirements on Auto Insurance
Maintaining continuous financial responsibility is a legal requirement in Colorado that is accomplished by having auto liability coverage. Self-insurance is also available if you own 25 or more vehicles.
The minimum requirements for auto liability insurance coverage in Colorado include the following 25/50/15 policy:
- $25,000 for physical injury, per person
- $50,000 for physical injury, per accident
- $15,000 property damage for each accident
In addition to the standard 25/50/15 policy, Colorado began requiring $5,000 medical expense coverage in 2009. While these amounts are Colorado’s minimum requirements, you can always purchase additional coverage.
Be prepared to provide physical proof of insurance if asked to do so by a law enforcement official. Acceptable forms of proof include a self-insurance certificate, an insurance identification card or letter from your insurance provider.
As a Colorado resident, you could face penalties for failing to maintain auto liability insurance while driving. The laws consider this violation a misdemeanor and carry the following penalties:
- Minimum $500 fine for the first offense. You may also face license suspension and receive four points on your driving record.
- Minimum $1,000 fine plus a four month suspension after the second offense.
- Minimum $1,000 fines, an eight month suspension and community service for the third offense.
Save on Car Insurance
Compare FREE quotes from the top insurance providers in Ashburn, VA.
Consumer Car Licensing Information in Colorado
Colorado issues a Class R operator license for all types of vehicles driven in the state with the exception of motorcycles and commercial. First-time drivers under 18 must take a driver’s education course, receive a permit and complete a driver’s training program. The state offers three types of permits for this age group. After satisfying the requirements, drivers under 18 may apply for a Colorado driver’s license.
Drivers under 18 and adult first-time drivers must pass a written examination to receive a driving permit. On the day of the test, be prepared to provide:
- Proof of your age, full legal name, social security card and U.S. citizenship status. Notarized and photocopies of legal documents are not accepted.
- A utility bill, bank statement or pay stub that proves you are a Colorado resident.
- A signed Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship if you are under 18.
- The $14 permit fee in cash or check.
Once you have kept the permit for the required time frame based on your age, you can take the driving test. Answering more than half of the questions correctly allows you to retake the written test on the same day if you fail. Otherwise, you can retake the test on the following business day.
The driver’s license fee is $21 in Colorado. For out-of-state driver’s licenses, you must receive a Colorado license within 30 days of establishing residency.
Motorcycle Licensing Information in Colorado
Riding the scenic roads of Colorado on a motorcycle requires an M endorsement on your Class R driver’s license. Separate motorcycle licenses are not issued to Colorado residents.
You have one of two ways to receive a motorcycle endorsement. The first way is inexpensive but may not help you attain the high levels of safety skills. Basically, you can take a written test and an on-bike skills test.
The second way to receive an M endorsement is to sign up for a training course with the Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF). This course has a state-sanctioned curriculum taught by third-party instructors. Your training will include a 15-hour program that covers the fundamentals motorcycle riding, and includes a written and skills test.
Colorado requires applicants for a motorcycle endorsement to be at least 16 years old. Applicants under 18 must keep an instruction permit for at least 12 months. Those between 15 and 15 must complete a third-party provided Motorcycle Operators Safety Training (MOST) program. Qualified MSF instructors must be present to supervise riding time.
Most training courses cost $200 and may vary based on the company. Higher priced courses include bikes and other equipment during training. Adding the motorcycle endorsement ot the Class R license costs $2 in addition to the basic licensing fees.
Commercial Vehicle Licensing Information in Colorado
If you are new to Colorado and current hold a CDL, you only need to transfer the license into a Colorado CDL. The entire process for a new CDL is relatively extensive. Before receiving a license, you will need to apply for a CDL instruction permit. This is a temporary document that enables you to operate a commercial vehicle with a driver who already has a CDL. During this time, you can receive the necessary training to prepare for the final driving test.
To obtain a training permit for a Colorado CDL, you are required to:
- Be at least 18 years old
- Have a valid Colorado driver’s license. Out-of-state licenses must be surrendered within 30 days after you become a resident.
- Verify your social security number
- Pass driving record checks
- Pass the DOT medical examination
- Pass the CDL written test with a score of 80% or higher.
- Pay the $14 fee
The length of training time for a Colorado CDL depends on the endorsements and class level you want to achieve. Driver’s license offices in Colorado do not administer the driving test. Instead, you will need to take the test through a third-party company. You will however, need to go to the state licensing office to pay the $35 license fee and complete the application process.
More Resources on Auto Insurance in Colorado
Department of Insurance
- 1560 Broadway, Suite 110 Denver CO, 80202
- Phone: (303) 894-7855 or (800) 886-7675 Toll Free
- Fax: (303) 894-7885
Found this useful? Share it!
Save on Auto Insurance
Compare FREE quotes from the top insurance providers in Ashburn, VA.