Auto Insurance in Delaware (DE)
If You Are Paying More Than $1,660.13 on Auto Insurance in Delaware, You Are Paying Too Much.
Insurance Calculator Inc. partners with the top-rated insurance providers in Delaware. An average consumer saves $564.87 on auto insurance quotes with us. Consumers in Delaware who are with existing auto insurance policies can also benefit from "switch-and-save" discounts of up to 15%.
Instant Quotes from Top-Rated Insurance Providers in Delaware
Auto Insurance Industry in Delaware
- An average consumer pays $2,225.00 on auto insurance
- 214 of every 100,000 vehicles are reported stolen every year
- Accident fatality rate of 1.28%
- Of all accidents: 64% are road-way accidents, 25% are intersection accidents, and 13% of all accidents involve at least 1 truck.
Driving on the streets of Delaware is a privilege for every citizen. Along with this privilege comes the responsibility for establishing financial responsibility. For Delaware residents, this requires purchasing auto liability insurance before the state will register their vehicles.
Delaware’s Minimum Requirements on Auto Insurance
Delaware has instituted a way for drivers to establish financial responsibility while operating their personal vehicles. Doing so will ensure money is available to pay for damages caused by an auto accident. The only option available to Delaware residents is to purchase the minimum auto liability coverage required in the state.
To meet the auto liability insurance requirements for vehicles, you must purchase a minimum of:
- $15,000 for one person’s bodily injury or death
- $30,000 when two or more people are injured or dies
- $10,000 for property damage
Your insurance provider will give you an insurance card for you to carry as proof of financial responsibility. It is a good idea to always keep the card in your vehicle. You will need to show it to a law enforcement officer during a traffic stop or auto accident.
If you need to register your car before receiving the card from the insurance provider, the DMV will accept a copy of the actual policy as proof.
It is never a good idea to drive without insurance. Not only are you threatening the safety and well-being of others, but you are also subject to steep fines. The state of Delaware has penalties for drivers who fail to maintain financial responsibility. These include an automatic suspension of your driver’s license and a minimum $1,500 fine. Even if you make regular on-time premium payments, a police officer will need to see proof that your insurance is up-to-date.
The DMV conducts random audits to make sure all registered vehicles are insured. You will receive a notification from the DMV if you are being audited. If so, you will need to submit a certification of insurance from the auto liability insurance provider to the DMV. Your license and registration will be suspended if you ignore the audit request. Additionally, you will have to pay a minimum $75 fine.
Save on Car Insurance
Compare FREE quotes from the top insurance providers in Ashburn, VA.
Consumer Car Licensing Information in Delaware
Drivers of all ages are required to have a license before getting behind the wheel. The DMV issues a Class D driver’s license for residents who operate pickup trucks, passenger vehicles, panel trucks that weigh less than 26,000 pounds and utility vehicles.
Young drivers under 18 will need to take a course in driver’s education before they can apply for a Level One permit. First-time drivers 18 and older must apply for a Learner’s Permit before receiving a driver’s license. The Learner’s Permit is valid for 60 days, during which time drivers can practice their driving skills.
New Delaware residents who currently have a valid driver’s license must pay a $40 transfer fee and pass a vision exam. Generally, you are exempt from taking the written and road tests unless your license has expired. You will have to surrender the old license within 60 days of establishing residency.
Motorcycle Licensing Information in Delaware
The process for obtaining a motorcycle endorsement in Delaware is similar to procedures for other types of licenses. Essentially, you will need to complete the following:
- DMV application
- Pass a written test and eye exam
- Receive a temporary learner’s permit
- Pass the road test
Delaware’s DMV requires a 10 day waiting period after receiving a learner’s permit before taking the road test.
Qualifying for the motorcycle endorsement includes having a current Delaware driver’s license. Teenage riders under 18 must take a motorcycle rider course. It is not mandatory for drivers over 18 to take the course, although it is encouraged.
Georgetown, Dover and Wilmington DMV offices process motorcycle endorsement applications. After passing the written test, eye exam and road test, you will receive a new Delaware license with a motorcycle endorsement.
Commercial Vehicle Licensing Information in Delaware
The DMV also issues a commercial driver’s license (CDL) once you qualify and meet state and federal requirements. To qualify, you must be at least 18 years old with one year of on-the-road driving experience. Your must be 21 years old before you can drive across state lines with a Delaware CDL. In addition, you must be:
- Medically fit and pass a driver physical
- Not have suspensions, revocations or serious driving violations
An application for a CDL is available from any DMV office in the state. You will need to provide proof of residency and personal identification. Every applicant must pass the knowledge tests after studying the Commercial Driver’s Manual provided by the state. The test covers laws and regulations related to CDL driving. Depending on any specialized endorsements, you may need to take more than one test.
The state of Delaware issues a CDL Learner’s permit once you pass the knowledge tests and pay the $48 fee. An additional $5 fee is required for each endorsement you may need. This permit is valid for a six month period to give you time to practice driving skills before taking the road test.
Although you have six months before the permit expires, you can take the road test 10 days after receiving the permit. The CDL manual also provides great examples to help you prepare for the road skills test.
Usually, the road skills test is conducted on an established route that offers an opportunity for you to demonstrate different driving challenges. These maneuvers represent typical scenarios that you could face while driving a commercial vehicle. The examiner wants to determine whether you can safely handle the commercial vehicle.
There are new federal requirements to self-certify your vehicle operation type with the Delaware DMV by January 2014.
More Resources on Auto Insurance in Delaware
Department of Insurance
- 841 Silver Lake Blvd. Dover, DE 19904
- Phone: (302) 674-7300
- Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
Save on Auto Insurance
Compare FREE quotes from the top insurance providers in Ashburn, VA.