Auto Insurance in Illinois (IL)
If You Are Paying More Than $1,107.29 on Auto Insurance in Illinois, You Are Paying Too Much.
Insurance Calculator Inc. partners with the top-rated insurance providers in Illinois. An average consumer saves $223.71 on auto insurance quotes with us. Consumers in Illinois who are with existing auto insurance policies can also benefit from "switch-and-save" discounts of up to 15%.
Instant Quotes from Top-Rated Insurance Providers in Illinois
Auto Insurance Industry in Illinois
- An average consumer pays $1,331.00 on auto insurance
- 224 of every 100,000 vehicles are reported stolen every year
- Accident fatality rate of 0.86%
- Of all accidents: 53% are road-way accidents, 26% are intersection accidents, and 13% of all accidents involve at least 1 truck.
Illinois prides itself on being a centrally located representation of American culture. The state is a microcosm of big cities, small towns, farmlands and industrial strength. Residents can appreciate life in Illinois and being in compliance with state laws that help to maintain a collective sense of order. For instance, all drivers must maintain auto liability insurance while driving on long country roads and big city streets.
Illinois's Minimum Requirements on Auto Insurance
In addition to maintaining a valid driver’s license and vehicle registration, Illinois residents must carry auto liability insurance. The state has minimum requirements for purchasing this coverage from insurance providers authorized to do business in Illinois. Driving comes with risks and residents must prove they are financially responsible for the privilege of driving on Illinois roads.
The only way drivers can demonstrate financial responsibility in Illinois is with auto liability insurance to meet this obligation, the state requires the following minimum coverage on every registered vehicle:
- $20,000 for injury/death to one person, per accident
- $40,000 for injury/death to more than one person, per accident
- $15,000 for property damage per accident
It is recommended by most insurance experts that you purchase additional coverage. A vehicle accident can be financially destructive to most drivers who do not have adequate insurance. For instance, you could cause damage to a vehicle that exceeds the $15,000 state minimum. By law, you are responsible for the difference in damages. Your finances may suffer without the personal finances to cover repairs.
You must show proof of financial responsibility by carrying the insurance card issued by your provider. This card is required if you are stopped by a police officer for a traffic violation or after an accident.
Additionally, the Illinois Secretary of State randomly checks the auto liability insurance status of drivers. You may receive a letter asking that you verify your insurance status. If this occurs, you will have 30 days to respond to the verification request.
As with other states, there are penalties for not complying with the requirements to maintain financial responsibility. The license plates issued for your vehicle will be suspended for failing to show proof. You will not be able to legally drive the vehicle with suspended plates.
Before the license plates are reinstated, you must show proof liability insurance and pay a $100 reinstatement fee. You could face a four month suspension if there are past occurrences of driving without insurance.
Citations for not having adequate auto insurance during either a traffic stop or at an accident scene could cost you $500 in immediate fines.
Save on Car Insurance
Compare FREE quotes from the top insurance providers in Ashburn, VA.
Consumer Car Licensing Information in Illinois
Whether you are a first-time adult driver, teenage driver or new to Illinois, you must have a driver’s license to legally drive in the state. The Driver Services Department issues a Class D driver’s license to drivers of most passenger vehicles.
Illinois requires potential drivers under age 18 to complete a specialized program. Practice time driving and completing a driver’s education course are mandatory. Successful completion qualifies young drivers to obtain a learner’s permit before a standard operator’s license is issued.
Drivers over 18 are not required to complete the driver’s education course. However, it is recommended, especially for first-time drivers.
Before receiving an Illinois license, you will need to submit:
- A valid social security number
- Provide proof of your birth date. A birth certificate is accepted.
- Prove you are an Illinois resident with documents such as a rental agreement, voter registration card or utility bill.
- Show your written signature on a major credit card, passport, cancelled check or mortgage agreement.
You are required to take a written test and driving test to receive a Class D driver’s license. If you are a new resident with an out-of-state driver’s license, you are not required to take the driving test.
Motorcycle Licensing Information in Illinois
The state of Illinois issues two types of motorcycle licenses. Class L is issued for motorcycles with a 150 cubic centimeter (cc) or less engine displacement. Class M is issued for motorcycles with 151cc or more engine displacement. Class L and Class M first-time licenses cost $10. The renewal fee for either license is $5.
Adult riders and young riders between 16 and 17 years old must go through the following process before obtaining a motorcycle license in Illinois:
- Apply for a learner’s permit
- Complete a driver’s education course
- Apply for a motorcycle learner’s permit that is valid for 12 months
- Enroll in a free 20-hour motorcycle rider course offered by the Illinois Department of Transportation (IDOT).
- Maintain the learner’s permit for three months before taking the road test.
Riders 18 and older may waive the road test for a motorcycle license by completing the motorcycle rider course.
Commercial Vehicle Licensing Information in Illinois
The commercial driver’s license (CDL) is required to operate commercial vehicles in Illinois. The state defines these vehicles as having a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 16,000 lbs. or more. These vehicles are also used to transport hazardous materials or a human passenger count of 16 or more.
Special training is required to drive a commercial vehicle in Illinois. Additionally, you must submit a medical certificate that shows you are in good health. The tests you are required to take are specific to the type of commercial vehicle you will drive.
Be prepared to pay CDL licensing fees with a check or cash since most driver services offices do not accept debit or credit cards. The fee is $60 for a new applicant who does not have an existing license from the state. The fee is $50 for applicants with a Class D Illinois license. School bus drivers pay only $20. Endorsements on a CDL cost $5 each.
More Resources on Auto Insurance in Illinois
Department of Insurance
- 320 W Washington Springfield, IL 62767
- Phone: 217-782-4515
Found this useful? Share it!
Save on Auto Insurance
Compare FREE quotes from the top insurance providers in Ashburn, VA.