Auto Insurance in Louisiana (LA)
If You Are Paying More Than $1,591.71 on Auto Insurance in Louisiana, You Are Paying Too Much.
Insurance Calculator Inc. partners with the top-rated insurance providers in Louisiana. An average consumer saves $510.29 on auto insurance quotes with us. Consumers in Louisiana who are with existing auto insurance policies can also benefit from "switch-and-save" discounts of up to 15%.
Instant Quotes from Top-Rated Insurance Providers in Louisiana
Auto Insurance Industry in Louisiana
- An average consumer pays $2,102.00 on auto insurance
- 218 of every 100,000 vehicles are reported stolen every year
- Accident fatality rate of 1.83%
- Of all accidents: 60% are road-way accidents, 15% are intersection accidents, and 14% of all accidents involve at least 1 truck.
The state of Louisiana is known for its Creole dishes and street carnivals. To the world, Louisiana is a place to visit for spicy cuisine and elaborate festivals. To local residents, this is a place to live and drive safely. Like other states, Louisiana has established rules and regulations for residents who wish to drive on roads and highways. Following these rules can help keep roadways safe for residents and visitors.
Louisiana’s Minimum Requirements on Auto Insurance
Louisiana joins the chorus of states where every driver needs to demonstrate financial responsibility for operating a vehicle throughout the state. An acceptable way to show financial responsibility in Louisiana is with auto liability insurance. The insurance policy you purchase from a licensed insurance provider gives you the financial means to cover damages resulting from an auto accident.
Proof that you have at least the minimum coverage for auto liability insurance required in Louisiana includes the following amounts:
- Physical injury or death per person: $15,000
- Physical injury or death per accident: $30,000
- Property damage per accident: $25,000
Louisiana requires electronic reporting of auto liability insurance policies to the Department of Public Safety (DPS) and the Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV). Insurance providers must report all information regarding purchases, cancellations and changes to auto insurance policies that they sell within the state.
In addition to obtaining liability insurance, you must also provide proof upon request. Several options are available that the state considers acceptable proof. Each one typically lists information about your vehicle and policy coverage. Proof of financial responsibility may include:
- Insurance identification card
- Insurance binder, policy or declaration page
- Statement from your insurance provider on company letterhead
There are penalties if you are unable to produce proof of financial responsibility. During a traffic stop or vehicle accident, the responding officer can remove your vehicle plates, impound your car and issue a citation. If this occurs, you will have three days to take proof of insurance to the OMV office.
Generally, OMV issues a flag on your vehicle registration and driver’s license when a provider cancels your insurance. The flag is removed if you can provide proof of insurance within 10 days of the cancellation date. An alternative is to provide evidence that the vehicle was sold, junked or registered in another state.
Reinstatement fees apply to every case where proof of insurance and financial responsibility is not provided in a timely manner. The fees are assessed based on the number of days it takes to produce proof: 11-30 days is $50; 31-90 days is $125; and, 91 days or more is $225.
Save on Car Insurance
Compare FREE quotes from the top insurance providers in Woodbridge, NJ.
Consumer Car Licensing Information in Louisiana
Louisiana has two driver’s licenses that you may receive to operate a passenger vehicle. The first is a Class E license that you can use to operate single-motor vehicles weighing less than 10,001 lbs. This driver’s license is also appropriate for recreational vehicles and some farm vehicles.
The second type is a Class D license that is used to operate vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) between 10,001 lbs. and 24,001 lbs. Vehicles in this group are not classified as commercial vehicles used to transport passengers or hazardous materials.
To apply for either driver’s license, you must submit an application along with two forms of identification to the OMV. There are also vision, written and driving exams that you must pass before the state will issue a driver’s license.
The written exam assesses your knowledge of driver’s license regulations and the rules of the road. For the driving test, you may use a third-party tester that the state approves. There is an additional fee of up to $30 to use the third-party tester. Louisiana’s OMV has a list from which to choose.
If you have relocated to Louisiana and have a valid out-of-state license, you do not need to take the driving test. Simply transfer the license within 30 days of becoming a resident.
Motorcycle Licensing Information in Louisiana
Similar to a regular driver’s license, you must pass vision, written and on-cycle tests to obtain a motorcycle endorsement. You should present a current Louisiana driver’s license and proof of insurance to a local OMV office. The endorsement fee is approximately $19 and may vary based on an additional parish fee. Typically, the parish fee will not exceed $3.
An on-cycle skills test is not required if you have successfully completed a state-approved motorcycle safety course. Louisiana acknowledges the Harley-Davidson Rider’s Edge New Rider and the Motorcycle Safety Awareness and Operators Training programs.
Commercial Vehicle Licensing Information in Louisiana
An application for a commercial driver’s license (CDL) in Louisiana involves several steps to ensure you have the skills and abilities to operate commercial vehicles. First, you must receive a physical examination form your primary physician. He or she must complete three examination forms: physical, medical and vision.
Second, submit these forms with a completed CDL application to an OMV office that issues CDLs. You will also need to provide:
- A valid driver’s license
- Social security card
- Proof of insurance on personal vehicles
The application fee is $15 with an additional $5 for each CDL endorsement. Third, OMV issues an instructional permit after you pass the written examination. You will need the instructional permit to take the driving skills test.
The driving test is not necessary if you have a valid out-of-state CDL. However, you must pass the written test if you wish to retain a hazardous materials endorsement.
In Orleans Parish, the CDL costs $51. The fee is $41 in other locations throughout Louisiana. The state allows a six-month period after the application date to pass all necessary tests before you may receive a CDL. After six months, your application expires and you must start the process over.
More Resources on Auto Insurance in Louisiana
Department of Insurance
- 1702 N. 3rd Street Baton Rouge, LA 70802
- Phone: 1-800-259-5300 or 1-800-259-5301
- Direct Telephone numbers: (225) 342-5900
Save on Auto Insurance
Compare FREE quotes from the top insurance providers in Woodbridge, NJ.