Auto Insurance in Maryland (MD)
If You Are Paying More Than $1,659.17 on Auto Insurance in Maryland, You Are Paying Too Much.
Insurance Calculator Inc. partners with the top-rated insurance providers in Maryland. An average consumer saves $509.83 on auto insurance quotes with us. Consumers in Maryland who are with existing auto insurance policies can also benefit from "switch-and-save" discounts of up to 15%.
Instant Quotes from Top-Rated Insurance Providers in Maryland
Auto Insurance Industry in Maryland
- An average consumer pays $2,169.00 on auto insurance
- 312 of every 100,000 vehicles are reported stolen every year
- Accident fatality rate of 0.99%
- Of all accidents: 60% are road-way accidents, 24% are intersection accidents, and 10% of all accidents involve at least 1 truck.
Accidents happen unexpectedly and maintaining auto insurance can help to keep down costs. Therefore, the Maryland Insurance Administration (MIA) has set minimum requirements for drivers who live in the state. Understanding these requirements will ensure you are financially capable of covering damages following an accident.
Maryland's Minimum Requirements on Auto Insurance
When you register a car with the Department of Transportation (DOT) Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA), you must certify that you are upholding the financial responsibility requirements for the state. The only way drivers in Maryland can demonstrate financial responsibility is by purchasing the minimum auto liability insurance requirements.
For residents, Maryland’s minimum liability coverage amounts are:
- Physical injury per person: $20,000
- Physical injury for two or more people: $40,000
- Property damage: $15,000
In addition, for more protection, you must also purchase:
- Uninsured motorist coverage for the same amounts as liability insurance. This is an additional layer of coverage if you are involved in an accident with a driver who does not have auto insurance.
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP) of $2,500 to cover your passengers’ medical expenses after an accident.
Proof that you have fulfilled the insurance and financial responsibility obligations in Maryland law is necessary before you can register a vehicle. The MVA requires that you either mail, fax or delivery in person form FR-19 that your insurance provider completes. This form certifies that you agree to keep auto liability insurance coverage for the length of time that the vehicle is registered.
Your insurance provider will notify the MVA if you cancel the insurance. It is your responsibility to inform the MVA whenever you switch insurance providers. Otherwise, the MVA will assume that you are not in compliance with the law. This may lead to points against your driver’s license.
Other penalties may also apply if you fail to maintain financial responsibility. The absence of proof on file with the MVA could lead to court fines and:
- Receive a $150 fee for the first 30 days that you are without auto liability insurance. An additional $7 per day fee begins to accrue on the 31st day.
- Revocation of your vehicle registration and license plates. The cost is $25 to have both reinstated.
- Up to one year of jail time or $1,000 fine.
- Be denied the ability to register another vehicle until all fines are paid.
Save on Car Insurance
Compare FREE quotes from the top insurance providers in Ashburn, VA.
Consumer Car Licensing Information in Maryland
A driver’s license is required for you to legally drive a registered vehicle in the state. In most cases, teenagers, first-time adult drivers and new Maryland residents will apply for a license. The application process may differ for each driving group.
Typically, the state of Maryland offers the Class A driver’s license for noncommercial drivers. Recently, the MVA began converting Class A driver’s licenses to an eight-year period for individuals who are 18 years and older; individuals under 18 can receive a five-year driver’s license.
Regardless of age, you are required to complete the Rookie Driver program in the state if you never had a Maryland license. An exception is if you have had an out-of-state driver’s license for at least 18 months.
The MVA requires every applicant for a Class A driver’s license to pass a written test and vision screening. On the day of your tests, you must take the following to a MVA office:
- School attendance certificate, if applicable
- Social security card
- Proof that you are in the United States legally
- Proof of personal identification, including your legal name and age
- Two documents that show you are a Maryland resident
- Completed driver’s license application
- $50 license fee
If you are a new resident of Maryland with a valid out-of-state license, you may exchange it for a new Maryland license. You are not required to pass any tests if the license is current or has an expiration date of less than one year. Additionally, you must have had the out-of-state license for at least 18 months. The fee is $72 and might be prorated per year
Appointments are necessary if you need to take the road test at a full-service MVA site.
Motorcycle Licensing Information in Maryland
Eligibility requirements for a Class M motorcycle license are similar to those set for a standard driver’s license. Residents who are 18 years old can apply for a motorcycle license by completing an application and passing multiple tests. Anyone under 18 years old must enroll in the state’s Motorcycle Safety Program.
Generally, you must take proof of your legal name, age and residency to a full-service MVA office to complete the required tests. You can pass the vision test with a 20/40 score. The road sign and marker identification test shows whether you can correctly identify street signs.
Written tests for general driving and motorcycle driving is required if this is your first license in Maryland. The motorcycle skills test is an evaluation of your ability to drive a motorcycle safely.
Commercial Vehicle Licensing Information in Maryland
Maryland issues a Class A, B or C commercial driver’s license (CDL) to residents who will operate commercial vehicles. To apply, you must have a standard driver’s license and provide proof of your age and citizenship. The minimum age is 21 to drive a commercial vehicle outside of Maryland. Applicants between 18 and 21 years old may apply for a CDL that allows them to drive commercial vehicles within the state.
You will also need to:
- Submit your social security number
- Provide proof of residency
- Pass a DOT physical
There is a written test, road skills test and additional tests for each CDL endorsement you may need. Fees, including multiple tests, are $90 for a permit and $50 to renew. Converting an out-of-state CDL to a Maryland CDL costs $65.
More Resources on Auto Insurance in Maryland
Department of Insurance
- 200 Saint Paul Place, Suite 2700 Baltimore, MD 21202
- Phone: 1-800-492-6116 / 410-468-2000
- Fax: 410-468-2020
Found this useful? Share it!
Save on Auto Insurance
Compare FREE quotes from the top insurance providers in Ashburn, VA.