Auto Insurance in Minnesota (MN)
If You Are Paying More Than $1,259.13 on Auto Insurance in Minnesota, You Are Paying Too Much.
Insurance Calculator Inc. partners with the top-rated insurance providers in Minnesota. An average consumer saves $299.87 on auto insurance quotes with us. Consumers in Minnesota who are with existing auto insurance policies can also benefit from "switch-and-save" discounts of up to 15%.
Instant Quotes from Top-Rated Insurance Providers in Minnesota
Auto Insurance Industry in Minnesota
- An average consumer pays $1,559.00 on auto insurance
- 161 of every 100,000 vehicles are reported stolen every year
- Accident fatality rate of 0.74%
- Of all accidents: 60% are road-way accidents, 27% are intersection accidents, and 10% of all accidents involve at least 1 truck.
As three might rivers - the Mississippi, Red River, and the St. Lawrence - flow through Minnesota, so does the traffic throughout the state from cars. While Minnesota does not rank in the top 10 of the worst traffic, accidents are still a major concern for residents and state officials. By law, every licensed vehicle in Minnesota must have adequate auto insurance coverage. Policies must include auto liability, personal injury and underinsured/uninsured coverage amounts.
Minnesota's Minimum Requirements on Auto Insurance
Registering your vehicle in Minnesota is equivalent to certifying that you accept the financial responsibility of driving. The insurance coverage you purchase is in line with the minimum state requirements for operating a passenger vehicle. In addition to purchasing auto liability insurance, Minnesota requires other types of insurance coverage.
The minimum coverage amounts for auto liability are to cover the cost of insurance claims after an accident where you were at-fault. Minnesota’s minimum requirements are:
- Physical injury to one person: $30,000
- Physical injuries to two or more persons: $60,000
- Property damage: $10,000
You must also purchase personal injury protection (PIP) to comply with Minnesota’s insurance laws. This is for lost income and medical bills despite who is to blame for an accident. Drivers are expected to have the following minimum amounts:
- $40,000 for each person, per accident
- $20,000 to cover medical expenses
- $20,000 to cover non-medical expenses
Underinsured motorist is additional medical expense coverage when the other driver causes the accident and does not have adequate coverage. For example, medical claims for your injuries may exceed the state’s minimum $30,000 amount for auto liability. Underinsured motorist coverage will pay the difference. Your auto insurance policy should have $25,000 to cover injuries to one person and $50,000 when two or more people are injured.
Uninsured motorist is also required by the state of Minnesota. This coverage also pays for your medical expenses after PIP benefits end. Uninsured motorist pays medical claims when the other driver causes an accident and has no insurance. The minimum coverage amounts are the same as underinsured motorist coverage.
If for some reason you are unable to obtain auto liability insurance, Minnesota has an Automobile Insurance Plan in which you may participate. This Plan is a guarantee that anyone who is unable to purchase regular insurance may do so with high-risk insurance companies.
You must keep proof of your auto liability insurance coverage in your vehicle. If you are in an accident or stopped for a traffic violation, the police officer expects to see proof of insurance. There are state penalties if you are unable to provide this information or you fail to maintain financial responsibility for driving in Minnesota.
These penalties can vary and largely depend on whether it is a first offense. When it is the first time, you could face misdemeanor charges. This upgrades to a gross misdemeanor if the same offense occurred within the last 10 years.
Penalties for a misdemeanor charge may include 90 days of jail time plus a fine that ranges between $250 and $1,000. In some cases, your driver’s license may be revoked or suspended if you drive without auto insurance. The only way to avoid these penalties is to produce a valid auto insurance policy before the scheduled court date.
Save on Car Insurance
Compare FREE quotes from the top insurance providers in Ashburn, VA.
Consumer Car Licensing Information in Minnesota
Minnesota has specific requirements that every resident must fulfill to receive a driver’s license. Typically, the state issues a Class D driver’s license for residents who want to legally drive a passenger car, SUV, pick-up truck or motor home.
If you are over 18 and this is your first license, you do not need to take a driver’s education course, although it is recommended. You will have to take a written test that is given on a walk-in basis at any local driver examination office. On the day of the test, be prepared to submit:
- Your social security number
- Certified birth certificate
- Blue card issued by any state-approved driving school
There is not fee to take the written test unless you fail twice. If this occurs, you must pay $10 to retake the test.
If you are a new resident in Minnesota and have a valid out-of-state license, you must take the written test and pass a vision screening. However, you will not have to take the road test unless the expiration date of your out-of-state license is one year or more.
Motorcycle Licensing Information in Minnesota
Generally, Minnesota residents must have a valid Class D driver’s license before obtaining a motorcycle license. Each applicant must pass a motorcycle knowledge test to receive a permit that allows them to take the road test.
The motorcycle learner’s permit requires successfully passing the knowledge test that is given at an examination office. You will receive the $21 permit that is valid for one year, which allows you to practice driving a motorcycle on Minnesota streets. You may apply for a regular motorcycle license after passing the road skill test. The fee is $11 for the motorcycle license.
You can take the motorcycle knowledge test if you recently relocated to Minnesota and have a current driver’s license. The road test is waived if you already have a motorcycle endorsement and the skills test from the other state is comparable to Minnesota’s.
Commercial Vehicle Licensing Information in Minnesota
Minnesota offers a Class A, B and C commercial driver’s license (CDL). Generally, to obtain a CDL, you must pass basic skills tests and endorsement tests to operate specific types of commercial vehicles. You must be at least 16 years old to qualify for a CDL. The age requirement for a hazardous materials endorsement is 21.
Fees for CDL permits and endorsements in Minnesota include:
- $43 - Class A
- $35 - Class B
- $28 - Class C
- $2.50 per endorsement
More Resources on Auto Insurance in Minnesota
Department of Insurance
- 85 7th Place East, Suite 500 St. Paul, MN 55101
- Phone: 651-296-4026
- Fax: 651-297-1959
Found this useful? Share it!
Save on Auto Insurance
Compare FREE quotes from the top insurance providers in Ashburn, VA.