Auto Insurance in New Hampshire (NH)
If You Are Paying More Than $1,078.08 on Auto Insurance in New Hampshire, You Are Paying Too Much.
Insurance Calculator Inc. partners with the top-rated insurance providers in New Hampshire. An average consumer saves $240.92 on auto insurance quotes with us. Consumers in New Hampshire who are with existing auto insurance policies can also benefit from "switch-and-save" discounts of up to 15%.
Instant Quotes from Top-Rated Insurance Providers in New Hampshire
Auto Insurance Industry in New Hampshire
- An average consumer pays $1,319.00 on auto insurance
- 73 of every 100,000 vehicles are reported stolen every year
- Accident fatality rate of 0.85%
- Of all accidents: 65% are road-way accidents, 12% are intersection accidents, and 10% of all accidents involve at least 1 truck.
New Hampshire is not like most states where auto liability insurance is a legal requirement. However, drivers must be capable of demonstrating financial responsibility to cover accident expenses for which they are at fault. Therefore, it is recommended that every resident who wishes to drive in the state of New Hampshire purchase an insurance policy.
Additionally, there are situations where drivers are forced to buy insurance.
- After an accident
- DUI conviction
- Numerous convictions for reckless driving
- Conviction for a traffic violation that leads to a review
In either one of these situations, drivers must meet the minimum requirements for auto insurance in New Hampshire.
New Hampshire's Minimum Requirements on Auto Insurance
New Hampshire has established a way for drivers to demonstrate financial responsibility by purchasing minimum amounts of auto liability insurance coverage. As a resident of the state, you can always buy more than the minimum amounts; however, nothing less is acceptable to drive legally within the state.
To demonstrate financial responsibility for driving in New Hampshire, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) requires at a minimum the following:
- One person’s death or injury: $25,000
- Death or injury for one or more person: $50,000
- Property damage: $25,000
Each amount represents coverage for one accident. When the state forces drivers to purchase auto liability insurance, the length of time is usually for three years. In addition, drivers must also keep proof of insurance in their vehicles. Acceptable forms of proof include an insurance identification card or certificate.
The insurance company will notifies the DMV when an auto insurance policy lapse. Drivers face penalties if they fail to keep auto insurance coverage. Their driver’s license is subject to suspension if an accident occurs and they lack the financial resources to cover damages.
Suspension of vehicle registration is another penalty drivers can face in New Hampshire. When this occurs, proof of insurance and payment of reinstatement fees are required.
Save on Car Insurance
Compare FREE quotes from the top insurance providers in Ashburn, VA.
Consumer Car Licensing Information in New Hampshire
The state of New Hampshire issues a Class D driver’s license to new residents and first-time drivers. Typically, drivers 18 and older are not required to take a driver’s education class to receive this license. However, a class can help the driver prepare for the required written and driving tests to receive a license. A vision test is also required before a driver’s license is issued.
Residents can schedule an appointment to take the written and driving tests at the local DMV office. Hours of operation for testing and license issuing may vary. However, each resident should be prepared to present:
- A completed driver’s license application
- Proof of identify
- $50 application fee
Drivers must apply for a driver’s license within 60 days of becoming a New Hampshire resident. With a valid driver’s license from a different state, drivers only need proof that they are a New Hampshire resident. They are exempt from taking the written and driving tests. In some cases, New Hampshire’s DMV might require a new resident to take both tests even if they have a valid driver’s license.
Motorcycle Licensing Information in New Hampshire
New Hampshire residents face a $100 fine if they drive a motorcycle without a special license or endorsement. A special motorcycle license is used for drivers who do not have a regular driver’s license. A Class D driver’s license is required to qualify for the motorcycle endorsement.
The application process for either an endorsement or driver’s license is similar to applying for a Class D driver’s license. Residents will need to complete a driver’s license application and submit it with a $30 fee. The fee for a special motorcycle license is $55 and requires passing a road test. In addition, proof of identity and New Hampshire residency is required. Acceptable forms of proof include:
- A passport or other type of photo ID
- Birth certificate if age is questionable
- Utility bill or residency letter
A learner’s permit is available for motorcycle drivers who need road practice before taking the test. Passengers are not allowed during riding practice and night time driving is prohibited. A motorcycle rider training program is also available to drivers. Fees for the training program are based on skill level. Basic training costs $110; intermediate training is $50; and training for an experienced rider costs $60.
Not only can drivers obtain additional training skills for riding a motorcycle, but they are also exempt from taking the on-cycle road test.
Commercial Vehicle Licensing Information in New Hampshire
New Hampshire residents must be at least 18 years old to receive a commercial driver’s license (CDL) for intrastate driving. An interstate CDL is available for drivers who are at least 21 years old. In addition to the age requirement, residents must also pass medical certification, complete the CDL application and have a clean driving record. An appeal process through the Commissioner of Safety is available for applicants who intend to only driver within the state.
New Hampshire issues Class A, B or C CDLs to applicants. The type of commercial vehicle determines the class. Examples of commercial vehicles include a tractor trailer, van or bus.
CDL fees range between $60 and $105 based on the number of endorsements a driver needs such as a bus driver or hazardous materials endorsement.
Appointments are not necessary to take the written test. However, applicants must schedule an appointment for the driving test since DMV locations and hours are limited. In addition, each applicant must pass an eye exam and tests for each CDL endorsement.
Three forms of identification are required when applying for a CDL in New Hampshire. Each form must prove the legal name, age and residency status of the applicant. New residents who have a CDL from another state must surrender that license to New Hampshire’s DMV.
More Resources on Auto Insurance in New Hampshire
Department of Insurance
- 21 South Fruit Street, Suite 14 Concord, NH 03301
- Phone: 603.271.2261
- Fax: 603.271.1406
- TTY/TDD Relay Services: 1.800.735.2964
Found this useful? Share it!
Save on Auto Insurance
Compare FREE quotes from the top insurance providers in Ashburn, VA.