Auto Insurance in New York (NY)
If You Are Paying More Than $1,761.79 on Auto Insurance in New York, You Are Paying Too Much.
Insurance Calculator Inc. partners with the top-rated insurance providers in New York. An average consumer saves $545.21 on auto insurance quotes with us. Consumers in New York who are with existing auto insurance policies can also benefit from "switch-and-save" discounts of up to 15%.
Instant Quotes from Top-Rated Insurance Providers in New York
Auto Insurance Industry in New York
- An average consumer pays $2,307.00 on auto insurance
- 105 of every 100,000 vehicles are reported stolen every year
- Accident fatality rate of 0.87%
- Of all accidents: 54% are road-way accidents, 33% are intersection accidents, and 11% of all accidents involve at least 1 truck.
Driving in the state of New York is a privilege and responsibility to buy New York State (NYS) liability insurance for physical injury and property damage costs associated with an auto accident.
New York's Minimum Requirements on Auto Insurance
New York offers only one option for residents to establish financial responsibility for driving in the state. You can obtain NYS auto liability insurance from any provider that is licensed and authorized to sell auto insurance in the state.
To fulfill NYS’s minimum insurance requirements, you must have at least the following:
- $25,000/$50,000 for physical injury
- $50,000/$100,000 for death to one or more persons
- $10,000 property damage for a single accident
Liability coverage is required for every vehicle registered in the state, even if it is not being used.
Once you obtain an insurance policy from an authorized provider, make sure the company files an electronic notice with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). This ensures the state has record of your auto insurance coverage.
In addition to the electronic filing by your insurance provider, you can show the identification (ID) card from the insurance company to the DMV. You should receive two original identification cards from the insurance company or insurance agent. Typically, these cards will include your name and a barcode.
One ID card is given to the DMV within 45 days from your insurance policy’s effective date. The other card should remain in your vehicle and be presented to a police officer after an accident.
Several penalties apply for failing to maintain financial responsibility in New York. If you allow the auto insurance to lapse, your driver’s license and vehicle registration can be suspended. Additionally, an accident in an uninsured vehicle will lead to a revocation of your vehicle registration and driver’s license for one year.
You will also receive a fine of up to $1,500 if you drive the vehicle or allow another person to drive it without insurance. An additional $750 civil penalty fee is assessed before your license is reinstated.
Save on Car Insurance
Compare FREE quotes from the top insurance providers in Ashburn, VA.
Consumer Car Licensing Information in New York
You can receive a Class D operator’s license from the state of New York. This gives you permission to operate a passenger vehicle within the state. You must be at least 18 years old or older to receive a Class D license. If you want to drive for-hire vehicles such as a taxicab, you can apply for a Class E operator’s license. This gives you permission to operate vehicles that carry up to 14 passengers.
First-time drivers over 18 must take either a driver’s education class or a pre-licensing class. A passing certificate is required before you can take the road test for a full license.
Typically, you are not required to schedule an appointment to take the written test for a Class D license. However, an appointment is required for the road tests. In some locations, appointments are scheduled three to six months in advance.
On the day of the test, you must present the following:
- A completed driver’s license application form
- Proof of birth
- Proof of your legal identity
- A social security card
You must also pass a vision screening in addition to the written and road tests.
The fee for a Class D driver’s license is between $64.25 and $67.50. In addition, New York residents who live in the five boroughs - Bronx, Brooklyn, Staten Island, Queens and Manhattan - must pay a supplemental Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District (MCTD) fee of $1 per every six months that the license is valid. This can increase your fee to a maximum $77.50.
If you are a new resident of the state, you can transfer a valid out-of-state driver’s license at any DMV office. Simply complete the driver’s license application, pass a vision screening, provide two forms of ID and pay a $10 application fee in addition to driver’s license fee. The written test and road skills test are not required.
Motorcycle Licensing Information in New York
You will need a Class M license to operate a motorcycle in the state of New York. If you have a motorcycle license from another state, you are not required to take the written and on-cycle tests. The DMV issues the license after you complete form MV-44 and provide proof of your legal identity and birth date. You will need to surrender the out-of-state motorcycle license to receive a New York license.
If you have a current New York driver’s license, you must pass the written motorcycle test before a license is issued. The motorcycle license fee is between $91.25 and $97.50. The $1 MCTD fee charged for a standard driver’s license also applies to the motorcycle license.
Commercial Vehicle Licensing Information in New York
New York’s DMV issues a commercial driver’s license (CDL) to residents who have a current Class D or Class E license. You must surrender an existing CDL from another state before receiving one from New York. In most situations, you will need to pass any tests to obtain a New York CDL. A written knowledge test is required for an initial CDL, which is administered at any local DMV office.
Without a current driver’s license, you must apply for a Class D driver’s license before applying for the CDL. You will need to have the following when applying:
- An existing New York driver’s license
- A valid social security card
- $10 permit fee
- A completed CDL application form
- Fees for the written test and license. There is not fee for the skills test.
You must list all states where you had a driver’s license for the past 10 years. A written knowledge test, road skills test and additional tests for each endorsement is required. Additionally, you must have a completed medical certificate from a licensed physician.
More Resources on Auto Insurance in New York
Department of Insurance
- One State Street New York, NY 10004-1511
- 25 Beaver Street New York, NY 10004
- Phone: 800-342-3736, 212-480-6400, or 518-474-6600
Save on Auto Insurance
Compare FREE quotes from the top insurance providers in Ashburn, VA.