Auto Insurance in North Dakota (ND)
If You Are Paying More Than $1,070.12 on Auto Insurance in North Dakota, You Are Paying Too Much.
Insurance Calculator Inc. partners with the top-rated insurance providers in North Dakota. An average consumer saves $209.88 on auto insurance quotes with us. Consumers in North Dakota who are with existing auto insurance policies can also benefit from "switch-and-save" discounts of up to 15%.
Instant Quotes from Top-Rated Insurance Providers in North Dakota
Auto Insurance Industry in North Dakota
- An average consumer pays $1,280.00 on auto insurance
- 127 of every 100,000 vehicles are reported stolen every year
- Accident fatality rate of 1.72%
- Of all accidents: 46% are road-way accidents, 34% are intersection accidents, and 15% of all accidents involve at least 1 truck.
North Dakota has plenty of open land and open roads throughout the state for residents to enjoy. Part of this enjoyment is made possible with the security of knowing government officials are doing what is possible to keep the roads safe. This means that every citizen must comply with the mandatory financial responsibility law to drive legally within North Dakota.
North Dakota's Minimum Requirements on Auto Insurance
As a resident of North Dakota, you can establish financial responsibility in one of three ways.
- Become self-insured if you have 25 or more vehicles
- Purchase an auto liability insurance policy with the minimum coverage amounts
- Participate in the North Dakota Automobile Insurance Plan if you are unable to buy liability insurance
North Dakota’s financial responsibility law has minimum requirements that you must purchase to operate a vehicle in the state. The coverage amounts include:
- $25,000 for physical injury or death to one person
- $50,000 maximum for each accident for physical injury or death per person
- $25,000 property damage
- Uninsured motorist coverage: $25,000/$50,000 for each person, per accident
- Underinsured motorist coverage: $25,000/$50,000 for each person, per accident
- $30,000 basic no-fault personal injury protection (PIP) per person
You must have proof of insurance and financial responsibility while driving a registered vehicle in North Dakota. This also applies to snowmobiles. The type of proof depends on the coverage you purchase.
A letter or certificate is required if you are self-insured. If you buy an auto liability policy, the insurance provider will give you an identification card. You will also need a certificate or letter if you are covered by the North Dakota Automobile Insurance Plan.
Penalties will apply if you are unable to maintain financial responsibility and show proof when necessary. If you do not have insurance and are involved in a car accident or pulled over by a police officer, you are subject to a Class B misdemeanor charge. The minimum fine for this charge is $150.
A second offense can result in the state impounding your vehicle plates. The state will return the plates once you present proof of insurance. If an accident occurs while you do not have insurance, your driver’s license is automatically suspended.
Save on Car Insurance
Compare FREE quotes from the top insurance providers in Ashburn, VA.
Consumer Car Licensing Information in North Dakota
Every resident in North Dakota who wishes to drive a private passenger vehicle must obtain a Class D driver’s license. The North Dakota Department of Transportation (NDDOT) administers the written and road skills tests that applicants are required to pass.
Written tests are given on a walk-in basis. However, you should arrive no later than one hour before closing or before noon to take the test. Road skills tests are given by appointment only at NDDOT testing facilities.
When you arrive at a NDDOT to take driver’s license tests, make sure you have:
- Legal proof of your name and date of birth
- Social security number
- Completed application if you are applying for a learner’s permit
You must also lass an eye examination and pay $5 for the written test fee. A learner’s permit is valid for one year, which gives you time to practice your driving skills. Once you pass the road skills test, the NDDOT will issue your driver’s license. The fee for the road test is $5. An additional $10 fee applies to receive your driver’s license on the same day.
The road skills test is not required if you recently moved to North Dakota and have a valid out-of-state driver’s license. You will, however, need to surrender the out-of-state license before the NDDOT will issue a North Dakota license.
Motorcycle Licensing Information in North Dakota
North Dakota issues a Class M license to residents who are at least 14 years old and want to drive a motorcycle. To apply for a Class M motorcycle license without a North Dakota Class D license, you must provide legal proof that you are a U.S. citizen and resident of the state.
Acceptable forms of legal proof include:
- Birth certificate
- U.S. passport
- Military ID
The following requirements also apply:
- Must have a valid social security card
- Pass an eye screening
- Pay $5 test fee
If you do not have a current Class D driver’s license, you must pass the written test normally given for this license class. This is required before you can take the written examination for a Class M license.
An appointment is necessary to take the road skills test at a participating driver’s license testing center. The motorcycle you plan to test on must pass a pre-test inspection. You must pay an additional $8 fee for the license.
Commercial Vehicle Licensing Information in North Dakota
NDDOT issues Class A, B and C commercial driver’s licenses (CDLs) to residents based on age limitations. Applicants who are under 16 may receive a CDL for custom harvesting purpose. Otherwise, the state does not issue CDLs to anyone under 18 years of age.
Generally, you must be at least 18 to receive a CDL to drive a school bus. The age limit is 21 and older to receive a CDL for interstate commercial driving. In addition to the age requirements, you must also meet the following qualifications:
- Pass written test(s) per CDL class for which you plan to drive; the fee is $5
- Pass the road skills test; the fee is $5
- Certify that you do not have a valid out-of-state CDL
- Have the ability to read, speak and write in English
- Relinquish your current Class D driver’s license
- Pass a physical and submit a medical certification
- Have a valid social security number
- Have a clean driving record
- Provide proof of your legal identity
- Pay $15 for a CDL permit, if applicable
More Resources on Auto Insurance in North Dakota
Department of Insurance
- 1701 S. 12th St. Bismarck, ND 58504
- Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
- Phone: 701.328.2440, 800.247.0560
- TTY line (hearing disabled): 800.366.6888
- Fax: 701.328.4880
Save on Auto Insurance
Compare FREE quotes from the top insurance providers in Ashburn, VA.