Auto Insurance in Oklahoma (OK)
If You Are Paying More Than $1,456.36 on Auto Insurance in Oklahoma, You Are Paying Too Much.
Insurance Calculator Inc. partners with the top-rated insurance providers in Oklahoma. An average consumer saves $397.64 on auto insurance quotes with us. Consumers in Oklahoma who are with existing auto insurance policies can also benefit from "switch-and-save" discounts of up to 15%.
Instant Quotes from Top-Rated Insurance Providers in Oklahoma
Auto Insurance Industry in Oklahoma
- An average consumer pays $1,854.00 on auto insurance
- 271 of every 100,000 vehicles are reported stolen every year
- Accident fatality rate of 1.57%
- Of all accidents: 65% are road-way accidents, 20% are intersection accidents, and 15% of all accidents involve at least 1 truck.
Oklahoma residents are proud of their rich history that includes distinctive Indian tribes, oil discoveries and infamous dust storms. Residents can also appreciate the opportunity to drive along the highways and byways legally. To be in compliance with Oklahoma’s driving laws, every resident must show financial responsibility while driving in the state.
Oklahoma's Minimum Requirements on Auto Insurance
You must maintain financial responsibility in order to remain in good standing with Oklahoma law. For every registered vehicle in the state, you must buy a policy that includes the minimum requirements for auto liability insurance. Auto liability insurance is the most common form of financial responsibility. However, it is not the only option for Oklahoma residents. The state also has the following options for residents:
- Coverage through Oklahoma Assigned Risk Auto Plan, which provides auto insurance coverage for resident who are unable to purchase insurance on the general market
- Deposit $75,000 cash with Oklahoma’s Department of Public Safety (DPS)
- Be self-insured with 25 or more registered vehicles
- Purchase a surety bond from an authorized company
Oklahoma has auto liability insurance requirements for every resident who drives a registered private passenger vehicle. These amounts include:
- $25,000: Death or physical injury to one person
- $50,000: Death or physical injury to two or more persons
- $25,000: Property damage
Additionally, DPS maintains an online system to verify which registered vehicles have proof of insurance and financial responsibility. You are still required to keep documented proof in your vehicle. This proof must be shown whenever you are in an accident or stopped by a police officer. Suitable forms of proof consist of:
- Insurance ID card
- Certificate of deposit or a self-insured certificate
- Surety bond proof
- Proof of Oklahoma Assigned Risk Auto Plan participation
There are penalties associated with failing to maintain financial responsibility. In most cases, you could receive up to $250 in fines, suspension of your driver’s license and vehicle registration, and up to 30 days in jail. Actual penalties may vary based on your specific situation.
Save on Car Insurance
Compare FREE quotes from the top insurance providers in Ashburn, VA.
Consumer Car Licensing Information in Oklahoma
An Oklahoma Class driver’s license is required whether you are a first-time driver or new to the state. Generally, a written test and driving test are required and administered by the DPS. An appointment is not necessary for the written test but is required for the driving test. On the day of the written test, you must present the following:
- Proof that you are an Oklahoma resident
- Proof of your legal name and age
- Applicable fees for either the learner’s permit or driver’s license, which is $4 for the application and $21.50 for the permit
You must also pass a vision screening when you take the written test.
If you are a new resident to Oklahoma, written and road tests are not required. You must, however, pass the vision screening. Typically, you can simply exchange a valid out-of-state license for a new Oklahoma driver’s license.
Motorcycle Licensing Information in Oklahoma
For many people, motorcycles are a cost-efficient way to travel, with their low-maintenance and low gas usage. Oklahoma has many scenic areas where you can enjoy driving a motorcycle. Just make sure you do so with a valid motorcycle license. DPS issues either a full motorcycle license or motorcycle endorsement to an existing Oklahoma driver’s license for residents.
Generally, you can receive either a motorcycle license or endorsement after passing written, on-cycle and vision tests. The on-cycle test is waived if you complete a course through the Motorcycle Safety Foundation. Motorcycle applications are accepted with the following documentation:
- Proof of U.S. citizenship such as a birth certificate or other primary ID
- Valid social security card
- Legal name change, if applicable
- Certificate from a Motorcycle Safety Foundation course
- Proof of motorcycle liability insurance
Oklahoma charges various fees for a motorcycle license and endorsement. You do not have to pay the application fee if you only need an endorsement. Additionally, if you have a valid out-of-state driver’s license, you must follow the procedure for obtaining an Oklahoma driver’s license before adding an endorsement.
- $4 for the application fee
- $21.50 for a motorcycle license
- $4 for a motorcycle endorsement
Commercial Vehicle Licensing Information in Oklahoma
The state of Oklahoma issues Class A, B and C commercial driver’s licenses to residents who drive commercial vehicles. To be eligible for a CDL in Oklahoma, you must be at least 21 years old to operate commercial vehicles interstate. The minimum age for intrastate driving is 18.
The state exempts drivers from obtaining a CDL when operating farm vehicles not used for hire and driven within 150 miles from the farm; military vehicles; emergency vehicles; local government vehicles for snow and ice removal; and, recreational vehicles for personal use only.
You will need to show proper identification when applying for a CDL. Typically, acceptable documents include a certified birth certificate, active military ID card or an out-of-state driver’s license. These documents must show your date of birth and legal name.
A CDL application is available from the DPS. General questions on the application covers your mental and physical health status; CDL training; hearing ability; and, history of drug or alcohol use.
Fees vary based on the class for which you are applying and whether you will need additional CDL endorsements. Class A CDL costs $66.50, Class B costs $56.50 and Class C is $46.50. Endorsements are $4 each.
Oklahoma’s DPS requires every applicant pass written knowledge, vision screening and road skills tests. After successful completion, you are issued a form that is presented to a Tag Agent. There, you will be photographed and receive the CDL, which is valid for four years.
More Resources on Auto Insurance in Oklahoma
Department of Insurance
- Five Corporate Plaza 3625 NW 56th, Suite 100 Oklahoma City, OK 73112 -4511
- Phone: 405.521.2828
- In State Toll Free Number: 800.522.0071
- Fax: 405.521.6635
Save on Auto Insurance
Compare FREE quotes from the top insurance providers in Ashburn, VA.