Auto Insurance in Oregon (OR)
If You Are Paying More Than $1,241.56 on Auto Insurance in Oregon, You Are Paying Too Much.
Insurance Calculator Inc. partners with the top-rated insurance providers in Oregon. An average consumer saves $301.44 on auto insurance quotes with us. Consumers in Oregon who are with existing auto insurance policies can also benefit from "switch-and-save" discounts of up to 15%.
Instant Quotes from Top-Rated Insurance Providers in Oregon
Auto Insurance Industry in Oregon
- An average consumer pays $1,543.00 on auto insurance
- 232 of every 100,000 vehicles are reported stolen every year
- Accident fatality rate of 1.11%
- Of all accidents: 73% are road-way accidents, 14% are intersection accidents, and 13% of all accidents involve at least 1 truck.
Driving through the great state of Oregon is a pleasure while enjoying the beautiful peaks and valleys, and rocky coastline. It is also safer when every driver follows the same rules and demonstrates financial responsibility. Some accidents are unavoidable, but all are resolved best when each party has the financial resources to cover damages.
Oregon's Minimum Requirements on Auto Insurance
Oregon requires auto liability insurance coverage on every registered vehicle. Otherwise, you cannot legally operate a vehicle in the state. The minimum liability requirements per accident include the following:
- Physical injury/property damage for each person: $25,000
- Property damage to the other person’s vehicle: $10,000
- Physical injury to more than one person: $50,000
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP) for your medical expenses: $15,000
- Uninsured motorist coverage: $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident
You are required to maintain proof of insurance that shows you are being financially responsible. A law enforcement official may ask for documented proof after a traffic stop or automobile accident. You will also need to show proof of insurance when registering a vehicle in Oregon. The state accepts the following documents as proof of insurance:
- Original or copy of an insurance ID card
- Actual auto liability insurance policy
- Official letter from an insurance agent
- Self-insurance certificate issued by Oregon’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)
The state can impose penalties if you are unable to show proof of insurance or maintain financial responsibility. Oregon’s DMV sends random letters to vehicle owners requesting insurance policy information. Typically, the DMV takes the information you provide and verifies whether a policy exists.
If the DMV finds out that you do not have insurance or you are unable to provide proof, you must submit a SR-22 certificate. This is required for three consecutive years to show you are maintaining the insurance according to the law.
Failing to maintain financial responsibility with an auto liability insurance policy can result in a license suspension. The state also charges various fines before your license is reinstated. Additional penalties will apply if you have an accident while being uninsured.
Save on Car Insurance
Compare FREE quotes from the top insurance providers in Ashburn, VA.
Consumer Car Licensing Information in Oregon
Before you can legally drive a vehicle in Oregon, you must apply for and receive a driver’s license. Oregon’s DMV issues a Class C driver’s license to every resident who want to drive private passenger vehicles. This applies to first-time drivers and new residents to the state.
Every applicant must pass written and driving tests before the license is issued. An appointment is not necessary if you need to take the written test. However, you must schedule a time to take the driving test. On the day you visit a DMV to take the written test, make sure you have the following:
- Proof of your legal name, U.S. citizenship and date of birth
- Proof that you are a legal resident of Oregon
- A valid social security number
- A completed driver’s license application
In addition to the written knowledge test, you will also need to pass a vision screening. The written test costs $5 and an additional $22.50 is required if you are applying for a learner’s permit. It costs $9 to take the driving test.
As a new resident in Oregon, you are not required to take the driving test if you hold a valid out-of-state driver’s license.
Motorcycle Licensing Information in Oregon
Oregon’s DMV issues a motorcycle endorsement to residents who are 16 years of age or older and want to drive a motorcycle. An instruction permit is not required in order to receive the endorsement. The motorcycle endorsement is added to a standard driver’s license.
DMV offers a motorcycle training program called Team Oregon. New applicants who under 41 are required to enroll in this program prior to receiving an endorsement. This requirement is waived if you have a motorcycle endorsement from another state.
The basic training course for beginners costs $179; intermediate rider training is $149 and advanced rider training costs $150. Typical skills covered in the course include brake maneuvers, obstacle avoidance, turning effectively and protective gear.
You can apply for a motorcycle endorsement at any DMV office as long as you meet the following requirements:
- Show proof that you are an Oregon resident
- Show proof of your legal identity
- Have a Class C Oregon driver’s license
- Complete a driver’s license application
- Pass a vision screening
- Do not have a revoked or suspended license in Oregon or another state
You must also pass a knowledge test and on-cycle test. Both tests are free of charge but the motorcycle endorsement costs $87.
Commercial Vehicle Licensing Information in Oregon
Residents who are at least 18 years old may apply for a commercial driver’s license (CDL) for intrastate commercial driving in Oregon. An interstate CDL is granted to residents who are at least 21 years old. In addition, residents must have a standard noncommercial Oregon driver’s license.
Successful passage of the written knowledge test and driving test are also required. Written tests are administered at a DMV office or through a third-party tester.
Additional requirements for an Oregon CDL include:
- One year of driving experience in a commercial or noncommercial vehicle
- Proof of identity
- Vision screening
- Valid medical card
With a CDL, you can operate commercial vehicles that weigh more than 26,000 lbs., transport 16 or more passengers and carry hazardous materials. If you are a new resident and have an out-of-state CDL, you need to pass the Class C noncommercial and vision screening tests, and surrender the license to the DMV. Testing fees vary and may cost $10 for each endorsement test plus $75.50 with an existing Oregon driver’s license.
More Resources on Auto Insurance in Oregon
Department of Insurance
- PO Box 14480 Salem, OR 97309-0405
- Phone: 1-888-877-4894
- Fax: 503-378-4351
- Consumer Advocacy Email: email@example.com
Found this useful? Share it!
Save on Auto Insurance
Compare FREE quotes from the top insurance providers in Ashburn, VA.