Auto Insurance in West Virginia (WV)
If You Are Paying More Than $1,462.07 on Auto Insurance in West Virginia, You Are Paying Too Much.
Insurance Calculator Inc. partners with the top-rated insurance providers in West Virginia. An average consumer saves $400.93 on auto insurance quotes with us. Consumers in West Virginia who are with existing auto insurance policies can also benefit from "switch-and-save" discounts of up to 15%.
Instant Quotes from Top-Rated Insurance Providers in West Virginia
Auto Insurance Industry in West Virginia
- An average consumer pays $1,863.00 on auto insurance
- 127 of every 100,000 vehicles are reported stolen every year
- Accident fatality rate of 1.82%
- Of all accidents: 69% are road-way accidents, 11% are intersection accidents, and 15% of all accidents involve at least 1 truck.
West Virginia has plenty of rugged mountains for residents to climb and enjoy. The state also has streets and highways for residents to drive. By enforcing the Compulsory Insurance law, West Virginia can ensure that every resident drives safely and responsibly throughout the state.
West Virginia's Minimum Requirements on Auto Insurance
The only way to establish financial responsibility in West Virginia is to purchase an auto liability insurance policy. Providers who are licensed to sell auto insurance in the state are listed with the West Virginia Insurance Commissioner’s office.
Liability insurance is required before you can register a vehicle in the state. Minimum policy requirements for private passenger vehicles include:
- $20,000 for physical injury or death to one person
- $40,000 for physical injury or death to two people
- $10,000 to cover property damage
Enforcement of the Compulsory Insurance law in West Virginia requires that you show proof of insurance when you need to register a new vehicle or renew a current one. Random requests are also made throughout the year.
Keep proof of auto liability insurance in your vehicle. This ensures you can show proof to a law enforcement official if you are involved in an accident or stopped for a traffic violation. Penalties will occur if you are unable to show proof upon request.
The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will suspend your vehicle registration if you do not have proof of insurance. You will need to obtain insurance and pay a $100 reinstatement fee. An additional $50 fee is required if the state police receives a secure order on your vehicle plate from the DMV.
You also face a 30-day suspension of your driver’s license for the first offense. A second offense carries a 90-day suspension. A $50 reinstatement fee is required at the end of the suspension period.
Save on Car Insurance
Compare FREE quotes from the top insurance providers in Ashburn, VA.
Consumer Car Licensing Information in West Virginia
The state of West Virginia issues a Class E driver’s license or instruction permit for consumer car licensing. You can apply for either as a teenager, first-time adult driver or a new West Virginia resident. The DMV administers written, vision and driving tests for a driver’s license. Appointments are not necessary for either test but you may want to call in advance to avoid unnecessary delays.
On the day of your respective tests, you will also need to submit:
- A completed driver’s license application
- Pay $5 for an instruction permit
- Proof of your legal identity with a birth certificate or other acceptable documents
- Two proof of West Virginia residency
- A social security card
The fee for a regular Class E driver’s license varies based on your age.
If you are a new West Virginia resident, you will need to take an alcohol awareness course and vision test to transfer an out-of-state driver’s license. The written test is not required unless your license from a different state expired or you are under 18 years old. Transferring a driver’s license from out-of-state costs $50.
Motorcycle Licensing Information in West Virginia
West Virginia issues instruction permits, Class F endorsements and licenses to residents who want to drive a motorcycle in the state. Endorsements are added to an existing West Virginia driver’s license. To be eligible for an endorsement, you must be at least 16 years old and have a Class E driver’s license.
You will also need to pass written knowledge and on-cycle skills tests. Applications are accepted at a local DMV office. Motorcycle instruction permit fees are $5 and the Class F endorsement is $1 per year.
For a motorcycle-only license, you must pass the written test and an on-cycle test. The fee for a motorcycle-only license is also $5.
As a new West Virginia resident, you can transfer an endorsement from another state to your new driver’s license. The on-cycle test is not required.
Commercial Vehicle Licensing Information in West Virginia
You can receive a Class A, B and C commercial driver’s licenses (CDLs) in the state of West Virginia to operate a commercial vehicle. State requirements include being at least 18 years old and driving experience of at least two years. West Virginia also follows the Federal Motor Carrier regulations for medical certification.
Generally, you are exempt from the medical examination if you are a government employee. However, you are still required to pass an eye examination. A medical waiver may apply for other situations. More information about this is available from the DMV.
To apply for a CDL in West Virginia, you must complete a CDL application for the basic license and endorsements. The fee for CDL written knowledge test is $25 plus an additional fee for the actual license. Endorsement fees are $10 each. Applications are accepted at the Charleston DMV. You can also mail your application to the office.
You will receive a test card in the mail after the office receives your application and appropriate fees. The card lists regional locations for the CDL examination. You can contact one of these locations to schedule a test time.
Typically, you will receive a six-month instruction permit after you pass all of the required written tests. This gives you some practice time, if necessary, before taking the road skills test. Instruction permits are issued to drivers who are 18 years old and have had a junior or regular operator’s license for two years.
Third-party examiners will administer the road test. An approved vendor list is available from the DMV. The fee for the road skills test is $75. Make sure the vehicle you are taking the test in matches the class for which you need a CDL. The third-party examiner does not provide a commercial vehicle.
More Resources on Auto Insurance in West Virginia
Department of Insurance
- PO Box 50540 1124 Smith St. Charleston, WV 25305-0540
- Phone: 304-558-3386, 1-888-TRY-WVIC (1-888-879-9842)
- TDD: 304-558-1296
Found this useful? Share it!
Save on Auto Insurance
Compare FREE quotes from the top insurance providers in Ashburn, VA.