Auto Insurance in Alaska (AK)
If You Are Paying More Than $1,543.56 on Auto Insurance in Alaska, You Are Paying Too Much.
Insurance Calculator Inc. partners with the top-rated insurance providers in Alaska. An average consumer saves $381.44 on auto insurance quotes with us. Consumers in Alaska who are with existing auto insurance policies can also benefit from "switch-and-save" discounts of up to 15%.
Instant Quotes from Top-Rated Insurance Providers in Alaska
Auto Insurance Industry in Alaska
- An average consumer pays $1,925.00 on auto insurance
- 228 of every 100,000 vehicles are reported stolen every year
- Accident fatality rate of 1.3%
- Of all accidents: 64% are road-way accidents, 13% are intersection accidents, and 4% of all accidents involve at least 1 truck.
If you are in the process of moving to Alaska, it is important to learn the licensing and financial responsibility requirements in the state before you start to drive. Each state has its own licensing and insurance laws. These laws determine how much experience a driver needs, what types of testing must be passed in the state, and the minimum types of coverage and limits that a driver must carry to satisfy state mandated laws. If you fail to comply with the laws, you could face serious penalties imposed by the DMV and local courts. Here is all of the information you will need to know before applying for your driver license, motorcycle license, or your commercial license in Alaska.
Alaska's Minimum Requirements on Auto Insurance
All drivers in the state of Alaska who are driving a private passenger vehicle on public roadways are required by law to carry private passenger auto insurance. Compulsory insurance laws will set the minimum amount of insurance that all drivers must carry with no lapse in coverage. If your vehicle is subject to registration, you must carry auto liability insurance to protect other drivers on the road. Liability coverage does not pay to fix your vehicle or to pay for your medical bills if you are involved in an accident and will only apply to third-party damages.
The minimum amounts of liability that must be carried continuously in the state of Alaska is as follows: $50,000/$100,000/$25,000. For those who are not familiar with auto insurance limits, these limits all apply to a different type of liability coverage. The minimum limits translate to:
- $50,000 in Bodily Injury Coverage per person
- $100,000 in Bodily Injury Coverage per accident
- $25,000 in Property Damage Coverage per accident
All drivers are required to carry a valid proof of insurance at all times. This proof of insurance must be given to an officer if requested. If you are caught driving without insurance, you risk the chance of having your driver license suspended. You will have to pay to have your licensed reinstate and submit proof that you have insurance for a period of 3 years or longer with an SR-22. You can also be cited for failing to having insurance and will have to pay a fine for the citation unless you can have the fined waived by the judge in court.
Consumer Car Licensing Information in Alaska
You are required to surrender your out-of-state license and apply for an in-state license in Alaska within 10 of becoming a permanent resident. If you have a permanent address in Alaska and you will be residing in the state for more than 90 days you need an Alaska license. If you fail to apply for your license in a timely manner, you can be fined or have your driving privilege taken away.
Types of Licenses in Alaska
Non-Commercial Driver License: An out-of-state license should only be used if you plan on driving for less than 90 days in Alaska. To transfer your license, you must be at least 16 years of age and carry a license from another state. You must surrender your license, pass a written test, pass a drug and alcohol awareness test, pass a vision test, provide proof of your legal name, pay the licensing fee, and pass the road test.
Motorcycle Licensing Information in Alaska
If you travel on a vehicle with no more than 3 wheels and a saddle, you must carry a motorcycle license. Motorcycle licensing requirements can vary from state to state. Only after all of the motorcycle licensing requirements are met in Alaska can you be issued this specialized license. Please keep in mind that anyone under the age of 18 must have parental consent and must have had a permit for 6 months or more to apply for a motorcycle license.
To be issued a motorcycle license you must complete all of the following:
- pass a written test
- pass a vision test
- pay the fee
- complete a motorcycle road test
Some riders may be able to show proof of passing an accredited course to bypass having to take the written test. The license will be valid for 5 years once the license is issued. You will only pay one licensing fee for this 5-year period of time. If you are not 16, you can also apply for a cycle permit by completing the previous requirements.
Commercial Vehicle Licensing Information in Alaska
A commercial license is required when you are driving a vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,000 pounds or more. You also need a commercial license when you are driving interstate, you are driving a vehicle that carries 16 or more passengers, or you are transporting hazardous materials. To transfer your CDL from another state, you will need to complete the following steps:
- Complete the application
- Complete the Medical Self Certification Form
- Provide proof of your legal name
- Surrender your out-of-state license
- Pass a Rules of the Road test
- Pass a Hazardous Materials test
You must be at least 21 years of age to hold a CDL in Alaska. If you are only driving intrastate, you may qualify if you are 19 years of age. If your license has been expired from another state for more than one year, you will be required to pass all CDL tests.
All of this information pertains to the state of Alaska. Keep in mind that all drivers are required to carry insurance when driving. You must carry a private passenger auto policy, a motorcycle insurance policy, or a commercial auto insurance policy based on the type of vehicle you will be driving. Be sure to discuss other auto insurance coverage options that are available to you in the state before you purchase a policy. When you go to the Department of Motor Vehicles to transfer your license, be sure to bring your auto insurance paperwork with you to prevent delays and you should not have any problems.
More Resources on Auto Insurance in Alaska
Department of Insurance
- 9th Floor State Office Bldg. 333 Willoughby Avenue 99801 Juneau, Alaska 99811-0805
- Phone: (907) 465-2515
- Fax: (907) 465-3422