Auto Insurance in Arizona (AZ)
If You Are Paying More Than $1,158.06 on Auto Insurance in Arizona, You Are Paying Too Much.
Insurance Calculator Inc. partners with the top-rated insurance providers in Arizona. An average consumer saves $288.94 on auto insurance quotes with us. Consumers in Arizona who are with existing auto insurance policies can also benefit from "switch-and-save" discounts of up to 15%.
Instant Quotes from Top-Rated Insurance Providers in Arizona
Auto Insurance Industry in Arizona
- An average consumer pays $1,447.00 on auto insurance
- 336 of every 100,000 vehicles are reported stolen every year
- Accident fatality rate of 1.31%
- Of all accidents: 53% are road-way accidents, 22% are intersection accidents, and 11% of all accidents involve at least 1 truck.
An Overview of Auto Insurance and Driver’s License Information in Arizona
Being a cautious driver does not guarantee that you will never be involved in a collision. Accidents happen and as a responsible driver you want to also be financially prepared. All Arizona drivers are required to carry liability auto insurance on their cars. The state offers several ways drivers can demonstrate financial responsibility.
Arizona’s Minimum Requirements on Auto Insurance
A primary way to show that you are a financially responsible driver is to buy liability auto insurance. There are a number of insurance companies authorized to provide liability coverage in the state. You may choose to purchase higher limits but the minimum amounts of coverage are:
- $15,000 coverage for one person’s bodily injury in one accident
- $30,000 total coverage for bodily injury per accident
- $10,000 coverage for property damage per accident
Insurance companies in Arizona have a partnership with the Motor Vehicle Division (MVD) to track which drivers maintain liability coverage. The MVD is informed whenever cancellations, non-renewals and new policies occur. Therefore, you should make sure your insurance policy never lapse or gets canceled.
There are penalties for failing to maintain financial responsibility while operating a vehicle in Arizona. Failure to maintain proof of auto liability coverage may result in a suspension of your vehicle registration and driver’s license. Before the suspension is cleared, you will need to show proof that you had liability insurance for the period in which the lapse occurred.
The alternative is to submit a SR-22 form to certify that you have liability coverage. You can obtain the SR-22 form from a company authorized to sell insurance in Arizona. Additionally, you will have to pay a $50 reinstatement fee.
Arizona state law only requires auto insurance for operable vehicles. If your car becomes inoperable temporarily for seasonal storage or a restoration project, you are not required to maintain coverage. You will, however, need to purchase a new policy once it becomes operational again.
Consumer Car Licensing Information in Arizona
Whether you have just moved to Arizona, are a teenager or an adult first-time driver, you will need a license before driving on the roads. Several different driver’s licenses are available to residents in Arizona. These include:
- Class G – a graduated license for 16 to 18 year olds drivers
- Class D – a non-commercial license for residents over 18 years old
- Class M – a motorcycle license
- Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) – Class A, B and C
The MVD issues an instruction permit for a Class D license that is good for five months after prospective drivers pass a written test. During the five months, prospective drivers under age 18 are required to complete either 25 hours of supervised driving or a driver education program.
Prospective drivers 18 and older may apply for a driver’s license without formal training. However, it is recommended that taking some type of course might help to develop safety skills. Both age groups must take and pass the driving test before a license is issued.
If you are a new resident of Arizona, you can transfer your current driver’s license without retaking any type of driver’s training. Simply take your existing, valid license to a local MVD office along with other forms of identification. The MVD will accept a birth certificate, military ID or a passport. You can take a vision test and pay the state driver’s license fee to receive the Arizona license.
The fee structure for Arizona driver’s licenses is based on age groups:
- $25 for 16-39
- $20 for 40-44
- $15 for 45-49
- $10 for 50 and older
Motorcycle Licensing Information in Arizona
First-time Class M motorcycle licenses or endorsements require an instruction permit. The minimum age to apply is 15 1/2 years. Testing is not required to transfer a license or endorsement from a different state.
Requirements for the testing process vary based on the age and background of motorcycle drivers. Additionally, the type of motorcycle used for the driving test determines the type of license or endorsement the MVD issues.
- 16-18 year olds are eligible for a graduated driver’s license that has a motorcycle endorsement.
- 18 years and older can apply for a Class D license with a motorcycle endorsement.
- 21 years and older are eligible for a commercial class license with a motorcycle endorsement. Requirements to receive a CDL apply.
Motorcycle licensing fees are the same as the fees for the traditional driver’s license fees.
Commercial Vehicle Licensing Information in Arizona
Arizona DOT issues CDLs for drivers who will operate a large vehicle for employment or volunteer purposes. The vehicle’s gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) determines whether you will receive a Class A, B or C CDL.
- Class A is for a total truck and trailer weight of 26,001 lbs. or more
- Class B is also for 26,001 lbs. or more but the trailer weight cannot exceed 10,000 lbs.
- Class C allows you to operate a vehicle to transport more than 15 passengers or hazardous materials. GVWR for the vehicle is 26,000 lbs or less.
You can receive a CDL instruction permit after passing a written examination. Additional requirements include receiving a physical examination and having your doctor complete the DOT Physical Examination form. The DOT also requires proof that you have had a standard driver’s license for a one year minimum.
With the instructional permit, you can practice your commercial vehicle driving skills for up to six months before taking the driving test. Appointments are necessary at one of the MVD CDL offices. You will need your CDL instruction permit, application fee and the vehicle in which you plan to take the test.
The CDL application fees are $25 for Class A and B, $12.50 for Class C, $10 per endorsement and $7 for a motorcycle endorsement.
More Resources on Auto Insurance in Arizona
Department of Insurance
- 2910 N. 44th Street, Ste. 210 (2nd Floor) Phoenix, AZ 85018-7269
- Phone: (602) 364-2499
- Fax: (602) 364-2505