Auto Insurance in Connecticut (CT)
If You Are Paying More Than $1,559.13 on Auto Insurance in Connecticut, You Are Paying Too Much.
Insurance Calculator Inc. partners with the top-rated insurance providers in Connecticut. An average consumer saves $493.87 on auto insurance quotes with us. Consumers in Connecticut who are with existing auto insurance policies can also benefit from "switch-and-save" discounts of up to 15%.
Instant Quotes from Top-Rated Insurance Providers in Connecticut
Auto Insurance Industry in Connecticut
- An average consumer pays $2,053.00 on auto insurance
- 187 of every 100,000 vehicles are reported stolen every year
- Accident fatality rate of 0.71%
- Of all accidents: 66% are road-way accidents, 21% are intersection accidents, and 8% of all accidents involve at least 1 truck.
Driving in Connecticut without auto liability insurance is unsafe and illegal. Accidents are a common occurrence and can lead to expensive charges for physical injuries and property damage. That is why Connecticut’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) enforces the state laws regarding insurance coverage. It is the personal responsibility of every driver in Connecticut to have auto liability insurance.
Connecticut’s Minimum Requirements on Auto Insurance
As a Connecticut resident and driver, there is only one option to demonstrate financial responsibility with vehicle ownership. Generally, you must have an auto liability policy that includes the state’s minimum coverage requirements for bodily injury and personal property damage. Mandatory requirements for private passenger cars include:
- $20,000 for bodily injury or death for one person, per accident
- $40,000 for bodily injury or death for more than one person, per accident
- $10,000 for property damage, per accident
Because this coverage represents relatively low amounts, most insurance experts recommend purchasing more. You can increase the liability amounts and/or purchase additional coverage such as collision and comprehension.
The insurance provider must notify the DMV when your policy has lapsed or is canceled. If the DMV will send you a warning notice if it receives a report from your insurance provider that you lack coverage. You should respond as soon as possible with proof that you are in compliance with the law.
You will need to complete a consent agreement form that indicates you have auto liability insurance. In addition, you will also need to pay a $200 penalty fee for violation the law.
If you fail to respond to the warning notice within 30 days, the state will issue a suspension notice and you might be required to attend a hearing. The outcome of the hearing determines whether your registration is suspended. Receiving a suspension will prevent you from either renewing your vehicle registration or registering a different vehicle.
The only way your registration is revoked is if you pay a minimum $200 fine and acquire acceptable auto liability coverage.
Consumer Car Licensing Information in Connecticut
To drive legally on Connecticut roads, you must have a valid driver’s license. The state offers a Class D noncommercial license to all residents.
First-time drivers under 18 years old will have to complete 30 hours of classroom instruction and at least 40 hours of training behind-the-wheel before receiving a driver’s license. Parents or legal guardians must also complete a teen driving law class.
If you are over 18 and also a first-time driver, you must complete eight hours of safe driving training before a license is issued. The local DMV office in Connecticut administers both the written and driving tests. Typically, written tests are provided on a walk-in basis. However, you will need to schedule an appointment to test for the driving portion.
Besides taking the written test, you must also pass a vision test. The state requires proof of your social security number and birth by showing either a birth certificate or U.S. passport. You will also need to show proof of residency documentation such as a utility bill, postmarked mailing or rental agreement.
If you have a disability, Connecticut requires a completed medical certificate that documents the condition. Also, remember to bring a recent photograph of yourself that you do not need it returned back to you.
The fee for a driver’s permit is $18; the fee for testing is $40. If you fail the driving test, you must wait 14 days and pay an additional $40 for a retake.
You are not required to take the driving test if you are a new resident and currently have an out-of-state driver’s license. Connecticut law requires you to apply for a new license within 30 days of becoming a resident. A license from a different state cannot be more than 60 days from the expiration date.
Motorcycle Licensing Information in Connecticut
A motorcycle permit is optional for Connecticut residents and is valid for 60 days. While it is not mandatory, obtaining one will give you practice time before applying for the state’s motorcycle endorsement. Permits are available from any full-service DMV office in the state.
Take proof that you have a valid Connecticut driver’s license, a completed non-commercial driver’s license application and a notarized certificate of your parent’s consent if you are under 18 years old.
The motorcycle knowledge and vision tests cost $40. The fee for a motorcycle permit is $15 when you successfully pass both the knowledge and vision tests. Failure to pass the knowledge test will cost an additional $40 examination fee to retake the test on the next business day.
Generally, you will need to enroll in a motorcycle safety training course that is approved by Connecticut’s DMV. Full-service offices issue M endorsements on driver’s licenses at no extra cost. A driving test is not necessary to obtain the endorsement since the training course oversees the skills test portion.
Commercial Vehicle Licensing Information in Colorado
Before you can obtain a commercial driver’s license (CDL) in Connecticut, you first need to complete a written exam. Typically, this exam is given on a walk-in basis at several DMV offices throughout the state.
There is a $46 fee for the written and skills examinations. You must bring a current Connecticut driver’s license as well as other licenses issued by different states. Other documentation includes:
- Your social security card or recent W-2
- Passport-size color picture that was taken recently
- Physical examination within the last two years or the federal DOT medical examiner’s form
- An application for a CDL
An additional fee of $10 is required before the DMV will issue a permit. Specialized endorsements are available for an additional $5 for the written exam.
To receive the CDL license, you must pass a three-part road test: pre-trip inspection, off-road and driving maneuvers.
More Resources on Auto Insurance in Connecticut
Department of Insurance
- 153 Market Street, 7th Floor, Hartford, CT 06103
- Phone: (860) 297-3800 or 1 (800) 203-3447
- Fax: (860) 566-7410