Auto Insurance in Georgia (GA)
If You Are Paying More Than $1,009.55 on Auto Insurance in Georgia, You Are Paying Too Much.
Insurance Calculator Inc. partners with the top-rated insurance providers in Georgia. An average consumer saves $386.45 on auto insurance quotes with us. Consumers in Georgia who are with existing auto insurance policies can also benefit from "switch-and-save" discounts of up to 15%.
Instant Quotes from Top-Rated Insurance Providers in Georgia
Auto Insurance Industry in Georgia
- An average consumer pays $1,396.00 on auto insurance
- 312 of every 100,000 vehicles are reported stolen every year
- Accident fatality rate of 1.18%
- Of all accidents: 59% are road-way accidents, 19% are intersection accidents, and 15% of all accidents involve at least 1 truck.
Having Georgia on your mind is more than a notion if you are caught driving without auto insurance. Thinking about the state is one thing; being in compliance with Georgia laws is another. Any resident who owns or leases vehicles in the state must demonstrate financial responsibility.
Georgia's Minimum Requirements on Auto Insurance
It is important to have the financial means to cover physical and property damages resulting from an accident. Unless you have proof of financial responsibility, you are not driving legally on Georgia roads and highways. In Georgia, you can obtain proof in one of two ways:
- Self-insure through Georgia’s Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner
- Purchase an auto liability insurance policy from a company authorized to sell insurance in Georgia
Auto liability insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles include the following coverage amounts:
- Personal bodily injury per person: $25,000
- Personal bodily injury of two or more people per accident: $50,000
- Property damage per accident: $25,000
Georgia does not require all vehicles to be covered by liability insurance. Non-motorized vehicles such as campers and trailers are not required to have this type of coverage. Additionally, liability coverage is not required for vehicles that are exempt from registration such as ATVs and mopeds.
Georgia is another state that has electronic reporting of the insurance coverage for registered vehicles. Every provider authorized to sell auto insurance in Georgia must submit policy information electronically. This is proof that you are maintaining financial responsibility and is available online through the Department of Revenue.
In addition to an electronic database, you might need to show physical proof of insurance. The state requires insurance providers to issue insurance cards to policy holders and policy holders must keep the card in their vehicles.
Self-insured individuals should use the information card and certificate of self-insurance as proof of financial responsibility. These documents are issued by the Office of Insurance and Safety Fire Commissioner.
You are subject to penalties if you fail to maintain financial responsibility for a registered vehicle in Georgia. Allowing your liability insurance to lapse could lead to the following:
- Up to six months suspension of vehicle registration
- Registration reinstatement fee up to $160 and a $25 lapse fee
- Misdemeanor charges if you are stopped by a law enforcement official without proper proof
The length of registration suspension and amount of fees depend on the number of times you have violated this law.
Consumer Car Licensing Information in Georgia
Every Georgia resident is required to have a valid driver’s license or permit to operate a vehicle legally. The department of Driver Services (DDS) issues the following licenses:
- Class C - for drivers at least 18 years old; 17 years old with an out-of state license equivalent to Class C
- Class A, B, AP and BP - for drivers of large vehicles not classified as commercial vehicles
- Class CP and D - instructional permits for 15 to 17 year old drivers who must complete the Teenage & Adult Driver Responsibility Act (TADRA) program.
The fee for a five year driver’s license is $20; an eight year licenses costs $32. DDS requires a completed application and passing scores on the vision, written and driving tests. New Georgia residents with a valid out-of-state driver’s license are exempt from taking the written and driving tests.
Motorcycle Licensing Information in Georgia
To apply for a motorcycle license in Georgia, you must be at least 17 years old. The state issues a Class M motorcycle license and a Class MP permit. Teenagers must also have parental consent to apply for a license and receive a permit from DDS.
Class MP permits are valid for six months and applicants only need to pass a written exam to receive one. The cost is $10 and come with the following restrictions:
- Driving allowed during daylight hours only
- No passengers allowed
- No highway driving
- Must use safety equipment
A five year Class M license costs $20 and an eight year license costs $34. DDS accepts the same documentation required for the Class C license for the Class M.
There are two motorcycle safety courses offered by the Georgia Motorcycle Safety Program (GMSP), which promotes safety awareness in the state. Although the safety courses are not mandatory to obtain a motorcycle license, they can be helpful for new and experienced drivers.
The basic rider course is a 15 hour training session where participants receive seven hours of hands-on driving practice and eight hours of in-class instruction. The basic course costs $250 for residents and $300 for nonresidents.
Seasoned motorcycle drivers can benefit from the experienced rider course and receive approximately nine total hours of hands-on and in-class instruction. The cost for this course is $150 for residents and $200 for nonresidents.
Commercial Vehicle Licensing Information in Georgia
Georgia issues Class A, B and C commercial driver’s licenses (CDLs). Generally, you can obtain a CDL if you are driving a vehicle that weighs 26,001 lbs. or more, carries hazardous materials or transports 15 or more passengers. You must be at least 18 years old to apply for a CDL.
The application process includes passing a written and on-road test. Additionally, you must pass a physical examination to guarantee you are fit to operate commercial vehicles. The written test measures your knowledge of rules and regulations regarding commercial driving. The on-road test is a measure of your driving skills with large capacity vehicles.
Written tests are administered at any local driver’s license office in the state. The on-road rest, however, is only available through offices in Milledgeville, Gainesville, Thomson and Jackson. The $35 application fee is waived if you are a public school bus driver or U.S. veteran.
More Resources on Auto Insurance in Georgia
Department of Insurance
- Two Martin Luther King, Jr. Drive West Tower, Suite 704 Atlanta, Georgia 30334
- Phone: 404-656-2070, 800-656-2298
- Fax: 404-657-8542