Auto Insurance in Indiana (IN)
If You Are Paying More Than $1,063.15 on Auto Insurance in Indiana, You Are Paying Too Much.
Insurance Calculator Inc. partners with the top-rated insurance providers in Indiana. An average consumer saves $239.85 on auto insurance quotes with us. Consumers in Indiana who are with existing auto insurance policies can also benefit from "switch-and-save" discounts of up to 15%.
Instant Quotes from Top-Rated Insurance Providers in Indiana
Auto Insurance Industry in Indiana
- An average consumer pays $1,303.00 on auto insurance
- 202 of every 100,000 vehicles are reported stolen every year
- Accident fatality rate of 0.9%
- Of all accidents: 54% are road-way accidents, 28% are intersection accidents, and 19% of all accidents involve at least 1 truck.
Indiana is viewed as crossroads for America’s interstates and trucking lines. So, it is reasonable to expect the state to have auto liability insurance requirements for its residents. Auto insurance offers financial and legal protection after a vehicle accident.
Indiana’s Minimum Requirements on Auto Insurance
All drivers in the state of Indiana are required to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance coverage. Besides coverage for physical injuries and property damage, Indiana expects drivers to also have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This insurance provides financial protection if you are in an accident with another driver who either has not insurance or not enough to cover damages.
The easiest way for Indiana drivers to establish financial responsibility is with an auto liability insurance policy. However, some drivers may have difficulty obtaining insurance if they have had multiple accidents or past policy cancellations. There are several alternatives for these situations. You could:
- Make a $40,000 cash deposit with the state treasurer
- Have a $40,000 trust fund
- Obtain a bond from a state-approved surety company
If you elect to purchase an auto liability insurance policy, you must follow Indiana’s minimum requirements. Insurance for passenger vehicles must have:
- $25,000 uninsured motorist coverage for physical injury to one person per accident
- $50,000 uninsured motorist coverage for all injuries in one accident
- $50,000 underinsured motorist coverage for all injuries in one accident
- $10,000 coverage for property damage
The state also requires that you keep proof of your financial responsibility. This documentation is required when you need to register or receive a title for a vehicle. You can show the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) representative your insurance card to fulfil this requirement.
In addition, licensed insurance providers in the state can submit documentation of insurance through the BMV’s electronic system. As a licensed and insured driver, you can update your insurance information through the same system.
You will also want to keep a copy of insurance coverage in your car. This is essential to show proof to a law enforcement officer if you are in an accident or during a traffic stop. If you have insurance coverage but simply failed to keep proof in your car, you will receive a Certificate of Compliance from the BMV. Upon receipt, your insurance agent will have 40 days to certify that you have an auto insurance policy. Otherwise, you could face having your driver’s license suspended.
Not replacing a lapsed or cancelled insurance policy leads to a Class A infraction in Indiana. You risk having both your driver’s license and vehicle registration suspended. The first offence carries a 90-day suspension; additional lapses within a three year period carry a one year suspension.
Before your driver’s license is reinstated, you will have to pay a reinstatement fee. Based on the numbered offence, you must pay:
- First offence: $150
- Second offence: $225
- Third and subsequent offences: $300
You will also need to complete a SR-22 form to prove you have the required minimum coverage of auto liability insurance. This information is maintained by the BMV for a three year period. Any lapse in insurance during this time may result in another license suspension.
Consumer Car Licensing Information in Indiana
Indiana drivers may receive a Class C operator’s license to drive a standard passenger vehicle in the state. Drivers 16 years old and over are not required to take the driver’s education course given to drivers younger than 16. However, it is recommended to help build confident driving skills.
The state requires that young and first-time drivers take a written test before taking a road skills test. Written tests are administered at any BMV office throughout the state. You will need to provide two proofs of Indiana residency and a valid social security card. Drivers under 18 must also provide the notarized signature from a parent or legal guardian on a financial responsibility agreement.
New residents of Indiana with a valid out-of-state driver’s license are not required to take the driving test. Simply exchange the out-of-state license for Indiana’s Class C license.
Motorcycle Licensing Information in Indiana
For motorcycle riders, the state of Indiana issues a Class M motorcycle license. The process varies based on whether you have some type of operator’s license. Those with a license must acquire a motorcycle learner’s permit after passing a written motorcycle test. The fee is $9 and the permit is valid for one year.
After 30 days, you can apply for a motorcycle endorsement that the BMV adds to your license. The endorsement is granted after you have passed the motorcycle road test or completed a motorcycle safety course.
Without a license, you must complete a $75 motorcycle safety program through the American Bikers Aimed Towards Education (ABATE) organization. You will receive a motorcycle learner’s permit after successfully completing the course. You may apply for a motorcycle license after keeping the permit for 30 days. No appointment is necessary to take the free written test and vision exam.
Motorcycle license or endorsement fees are based on your age group:
- $14 under 18 years old
- $21 for 18 to 65 year olds
- $14 for 65 to 75 year olds
- $11 for 75 to 85 year olds
Commercial Vehicle Licensing Information in Indiana
You are required to have a valid Indiana driver’s license before obtaining a commercial driver’s license (CDL). Additionally, you must pass a physical examination required by the Department of Transportation (DOT). For a hazmat endorsement, you must pay an $89.25 fee and be fingerprinted through the TSA.
A written knowledge test and road skills test are required for an Indiana CDL. Additional tests may also be required for specialized endorsements such as school bus driving or hauling bulk liquids. The permit that is issued after the written test costs $16. The road test costs $30.
More Resources on Auto Insurance in Indiana
Department of Insurance
- 311 West Washington Street, Suite 300, Indianapolis, IN, 46204.
- Phone: (317) 232-2385