Auto Insurance in Maine (ME)
If You Are Paying More Than $1,013.35 on Auto Insurance in Maine, You Are Paying Too Much.
Insurance Calculator Inc. partners with the top-rated insurance providers in Maine. An average consumer saves $142.65 on auto insurance quotes with us. Consumers in Maine who are with existing auto insurance policies can also benefit from "switch-and-save" discounts of up to 15%.
Instant Quotes from Top-Rated Insurance Providers in Maine
Auto Insurance Industry in Maine
- An average consumer pays $1,156.00 on auto insurance
- 74 of every 100,000 vehicles are reported stolen every year
- Accident fatality rate of 1.1%
- Of all accidents: 70% are road-way accidents, 18% are intersection accidents, and 7% of all accidents involve at least 1 truck.
Driving legally in the state of Maine requires proof that you can cover the cost of damages after an auto accident. This means that residents must maintain auto liability insurance at all times. Maine also requires coverage for uninsured motorist and medical payments to enjoy driving along the coastline.
Maine's Minimum Requirements on Auto Insurance
Some states offer residents several options for establishing financial responsibility. As a Maine resident, however, you have only one option, which is to buy an auto liability insurance policy.
According to Maine’s financial responsibility law, you must carry the following minimum auto liability coverage amounts on every registered vehicle:
- $50,000 for one person’s physical injury or death
- $100,000 for more than one person’s physical injury or death, per accident
- $25,000 for property damage caused by an accident
- $50,000 per person/$100,000 per accident for uninsured/underinsured motorists
- $2,000 medical payments
There is also an alternative option if you are unable to buy a liability insurance policy. Called the Maine Automobile Insurance Plan, this requires insurance providers with auto coverage plans to make contributions to a program. Generally, the program offers coverage to this assigned risk market.
The state does not have a direct reporting system where insurance companies report this information. You are responsible for notifying the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) that you have auto liability coverage. Usually, your insurance provider may give you multiple documents that can be used as proof of insurance. Included among these documents are:
- Insurance identification card
- Declaration page
- Insurance policy summary document
- Insurance binder
Proof of insurance is required when you need to register a vehicle. Failure to show proof upon request may result in fines, a citation, and suspension of your driver’s license and vehicle registration.
Consumer Car Licensing Information in Maine
There are specific requirements in the state of Maine for obtaining a driver’s license. Whether you are a teenager, first-time adult driver or a new resident, a driver’s license is required to drive legally in Maine. The state issues a Class C driver’s license for the operation of private passenger vehicles.
The BMV will schedule a time for you to take the written knowledge test and vision screening. You must take the following documents with you to the BMV on test day:
- Two forms of personal identification
- Driver’s education completion certificate if you are under 18 years old
- $10 payment
- Proof of residency
A six-year license for Maine drivers under age 65 costs $30. For drivers who are 65 and older, the fee is $21 for a four-year license.
If you recently moved to Maine and have a valid out-of-state license, you may receive a driver’s license from the BMC without taking the written exam and road test. You will, however, need to pass the vision screening. Additionally, you will need to surrender your out-of-state license and pay a $10 application fee plus a $30 license fee.
Motorcycle Licensing Information in Maine
To drive a motorcycle in the Pine Tree state, you will need either a learner’s permit or an endorsement that is specific to motorcycle driving. You must apply at a local BMV by completing the following steps:
- Be at least 16 years old
- Complete the eight-hour Maine Motorcycle Safety Education Course (MMSEC)
- Complete the motorcycle permit application
- Pass a written exam
- Pass the on-cycle road test
The following applies to motorcycle fees in Maine:
- $10 application fee for permit and license
- $30 photo license
- $30 five-year renewal
Commercial Vehicle Licensing Information in Maine
You can receive a commercial driver’s license from Maine by following the rules and regulations established by the federal government and the state. Maine offers a Class A, B or C CDL to residents who wish to operate commercial vehicles. To begin the application process for a CDL, you must show proof that you meet the following criteria:
- Be at least 16 years old
- Be at least 21 years old to drive a bus or hazmat truck
- Have a valid noncommercial license from your state of residence
- No suspension or revocation of you current license
- Have no DWI convictions within the previous 24 months
Meeting all of these requirements is essential to obtaining a CDL from the state of Maine. An application is available from any BMV office or you can access it online. Fees are:
- $34 for a six-year CDL if you are under age 65
- $28 for a sour-year CDL if you are over 65
- $35 for the CDL test
- $10 per CDL endorsement
Appointments are scheduled through the BMV office for the written and road skills tests. The agency will mail a written notice that has the date, time and location of the written test. The letter will also inform you of additional endorsement testing that may apply. On the day of the written test, you will also need to receive a vision screening. A passing vision score for the CDL is at least 20/40 vision and a 140-degree field of vision.
A learner’s permit is issued after you successfully pass the written and eye tests. You will have 18 months to drive with the learner’s permit to improve your operator skills. Once you are ready to take the road test, you must submit an exam request to the BMV. A driver with a CDL must accompany you while you are driving a commercial vehicle.
You are responsible for providing the appropriate vehicle for testing. Generally, the on-road test evaluates your basic commercial driving abilities such as parallel parking, stopping on public roads, backing up, starting the vehicle and driving maneuvers.
More Resources on Auto Insurance in Maine
Department of Insurance
- #34 State House Station Augusta, ME 04333-0034
- Telephone: 800-300-5000 (toll free in Maine) or 207-624-8475
- TTY for hearing impaired: 888-577-6690
- Fax: 207-624-8599