Auto Insurance in Massachusetts (MA)

If You Are Paying More Than $938.43 on Auto Insurance in Massachusetts, You Are Paying Too Much.

Insurance Calculator Inc. partners with the top-rated insurance providers in Massachusetts. An average consumer saves $174.57 on auto insurance quotes with us. Consumers in Massachusetts who are with existing auto insurance policies can also benefit from "switch-and-save" discounts of up to 15%.

Instant Quotes from Top-Rated Insurance Providers in Massachusetts

 

Auto Insurance Industry in Massachusetts

  • An average consumer pays $1,113.00 on auto insurance
  • 174 of every 100,000 vehicles are reported stolen every year
  • Accident fatality rate of 0.61%
  • Of all accidents: 59% are road-way accidents, 22% are intersection accidents, and 8% of all accidents involve at least 1 truck.

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts requires that every driver in the state have auto liability insurance on registered vehicles. Driving is a privilege that is honored by also demonstrating financial responsibility to accept this freedom. If you are in an accident, it is important to have the financial capacity to cover the cost of damages.

Massachusetts’ Minimum Requirements on Auto Insurance

Essentially, obtaining minimum amounts of auto liability insurance from an authorized insurance provider in the state is the only pathway for residents to establish financial responsibility. Private passenger vehicles must include the following minimum amounts:

  • $20,000 per person, $40,000 per accident for physical injury to others
  • Up to $8,000 of personal injury protection (PIP) for you, pedestrian, a passenger in your vehicle or an authorized driver of your car.
  • $20,000 per person, $40,000 per accident for physical injury caused by an uninsured motorist
  • $5,000 personal property damage

Proof to the state that you are maintaining financial responsibility is provided by your insurance company. Typically, the insurance company will complete a RMV-1 application that certifies your coverage effective dates of coverage, vehicle description and the liability limits.

You should keep this proof in your vehicle and present it to a law enforcement officer when necessary. If your auto liability coverage lapses or you do not have documented proof of insurance, you might receive a traffic citation.

Consumer Car Licensing Information in Massachusetts

First-time drivers and new residents of the Bay State must apply for a Class D driver’s license to legally operate a noncommercial vehicle in Massachusetts. There is a written test and a driving test at the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) used to evaluate applicants’ driving skills. Tests are administered on a walk-in basis at any full-service RMV office.

If you are a first-time driver, you will need to present the following documents at the RMV:

  • A test permit application signed by a parent or legal guardian if you are under 18 years old.
  • Social security card
  • Proof of your birth date and legal signature
  • Proof that you are a Massachusetts resident
  • Cash or check for the $30 written test fee

The RMV will issue a two-year learner’s permit if you pass the written test. There is an additional $30 fee to retake the written test.

Generally, you must make an appointment to take the road test. Before taking the road test, you will need to present:

  • A completed road test application
  • Medical clearance from your doctor if you have a medical that could affect your driving skills.
  • Learner’s permit
  • Cash or check for the $20 road test fee

If you are a new Massachusetts resident with a current out-of-state driver’s license, you will not need to take the road test. Additionally, the road test is not required if the expiration date for the driver’s license is less than four years from the date you apply.

Motorcycle Licensing Information in Massachusetts

An endorsement or a special license is required for you to legally drive a motorcycle in the state. A motorcycle endorsement is added to your Class D driver’s license. Criminal penalties may apply if you drive a motorcycle without the proper licensing or endorsement.

Massachusetts also has a helmet law that can lead to more penalties if you decide to drive a motorcycle without one.

Generally, Massachusetts residents who are at least 16 years old may apply for a motorcycle learner’s permit. The fee for a learner’s permit is $30 and $15 if you only need an endorsement. Be prepared to submit a permit application to the RMV office with the appropriate fee.

You can take the written exam and eye screening without scheduling an appointment. However, an appointment is required to take the road skills test. Passing the test provides an upgrade from a permit to a full Class M motorcycle license. The cost is $50 for a five-year Class M license. Receiving a motorcycle endorsement on an existing license is $15.

The road test requirement is waived if you pass the Motorcycle Rider Education Training course, which is offered by the state. You will need to apply for the waiver within 90 days of completing the training course.

Commercial Vehicle Licensing Information in Massachusetts

Like other states, a commercial driver’s license (CDL) is available in Massachusetts for one of three classes: Class A, B or C. If you are 18 years old, you may apply for an intrastate CDL. An interstate CDL is available if you are at least 21 years old.

Typically, you can use your current Massachusetts driver’s license for proper identification to apply for a CDL. However, if you do not have a Massachusetts license, you will need to present the following items:

  • Social security card
  • Proof of your date of birth and legal signature
  • Proof that you are a Massachusetts resident

With these documents, you can apply for a CDL permit at a local RMV office. The application fee is $30. Basically, you will need to pass a written test that includes additional testing for each commercial endorsement. The endorsements also costs $10 each.

You will receive a two-year permit once you pass the written exam. An appointment is necessary to take the road skills test, which evaluates your skills in three key areas. The first area is a vehicle inspection, where you will show the inspector how to tour a commercial vehicle before taking it on the road. The second area is an evaluation of basic driving control on a closed course. The last area is an open road driving with a state examiner.

The state issues a permanent CDL once you pass the road test. The fee for a five-year CDL in each class is $75.

More Resources on Auto Insurance in Massachusetts

Department of Insurance

  • http://www.mass.gov/doi
  • 1000 Washington Street, Suite 810 Boston MA 02118-6200
  • Phone: (617) 521-7794
  • Fax: (617) 753-6830
 

 

 

Claim Centre

 

 

Just Quoted: