Auto Insurance in Mississippi (MS)
If You Are Paying More Than $1,032.14 on Auto Insurance in Mississippi, You Are Paying Too Much.
Insurance Calculator Inc. partners with the top-rated insurance providers in Mississippi. An average consumer saves $196.86 on auto insurance quotes with us. Consumers in Mississippi who are with existing auto insurance policies can also benefit from "switch-and-save" discounts of up to 15%.
Instant Quotes from Top-Rated Insurance Providers in Mississippi
Auto Insurance Industry in Mississippi
- An average consumer pays $1,229.00 on auto insurance
- 180 of every 100,000 vehicles are reported stolen every year
- Accident fatality rate of 1.73%
- Of all accidents: 81% are road-way accidents, 21% are intersection accidents, and 8% of all accidents involve at least 1 truck.
The state of Mississippi is proud of its rich southern history and modern growth. To make sure all residents can enjoy driving safely on roads and highways, Mississippi has laws that govern auto insurance requirements. Making sure you comply with these laws can help to prevent stress and financial frustration if an accident occurs.
Mississippi's Minimum Requirements on Auto Insurance
Mississippi has minimum requirements on auto liability insurance that each driver in the state must follow. Generally, you must establish financial responsibility for every registered vehicle in the state. With adequate coverage, everyone is protected from the expensive insurance claims usually filed after an accident.
You can purchase auto liability insurance from any provider that is authorized to sell auto insurance in Mississippi. While you have the liberty to increase these amounts, the minimum requirements for auto liability are:
- $25,000 per person, per accident
- $50,000 for physical injury per accident
- $25,000 for property damage per accident
In addition, you must show proof of auto insurance to a law enforcement official upon request. Keep a valid insurance card in your vehicle to guarantee that you will have proof if there is an accident or routine traffic stop.
Failing to provide proof of auto insurance can result in stiff penalties and fines. In Mississippi, drivers might have to pay a $1,000 and have their vehicles registration suspended for one year. Subsequent violations can result in harsher penalties.
Consumer Car Licensing Information in Mississippi
Mississippi’s Department of Public Safety (DPS) issues a Class R driver’s license to new residents and first-time drivers for passenger vehicles. Both written and road skills tests are given at a local DPS office. You can either make an appointment or complete the written test on a walk-in basis. Typically, appointments are recommended for the road skills test to ensure an examiner is available when you arrive.
Whether you are applying for a learner’s permit or the Class R license, you will need to:
- Submit a completed Mississippi driver’s license application
- Provide your social security number
- Present your birth certificate
- Provide proof that you are a Mississippi resident
- Pass the written test, driving test and vision screening
- Pay $4 for a learner’s permit; $21 for a driver’s license
If you are a new resident to Mississippi, you are not required to take the written and road tests. Simply exchange your current out-of-state driver’s license for a Mississippi license. However, first-time drivers must take both written and on-the-road tests.
Motorcycle Licensing Information in Mississippi
Generally, motorcycle drivers may apply for a Class E permit or endorsement in Mississippi. The endorsement is added to your current Mississippi Class R driver’s license. You must be at least 17 years old to receive a motorcycle endorsement. Additionally, you are required to pass written and riding tests. These tests are waived for new residents with a valid motorcycle endorsement or license from a different state.
The motorcycle permit costs only $1 and is valid for one year. This gives you time to practice driving a motorcycle on public roads. However, a fellow rider with a valid motorcycle endorsement and is at least 21 years old must accompany you. In most cases, you can take the riding test on the same day you obtain a learner’s permit and forego additional practice.
The following documents are required by DPS in order to apply for a motorcycle permit or endorsement:
- Certificate of birth
- Original social security card
- Proof that you are a Mississippi resident
Fees for a motorcycle license or endorsement vary. When you need a license, the fee is $14 whether it is a new one or renewal. The cost is $6 if you are under 18 years old. You cost is $6 to add a motorcycle endorsement to an existing Class R driver’s license.
Be sure to wear a helmet while riding a motorcycle since Mississippi enforces its helmet law.
Commercial Vehicle Licensing Information in Mississippi
The minimum age to obtain a commercial driver’s license (CDL) in Mississippi is 17 years old. Additionally, you must have a Class R driver’s license. Class A, B, C and D CDLs are available for Mississippi residents who wish to drive commercial vehicles. Each class represents the following types of commercial vehicles:
- Class A - vehicles, including tractor trailers, weighing over 26,000 lbs.
- Class B - vehicles used to transport more than 15 passengers
- Class C - vehicles used to haul hazardous materials
- Class D - vehicles weighing less than 26,000 lbs. and are used for business purposes.
The state of Mississippi requires all CDL applicants to complete the requirements for medical certification.
Testing requirements include passing a written knowledge skills test and a road skills test. Appointments are required and can be scheduled by telephone or on Mississippi’s DPS website. You will need to bring the following on the day of the road skills test:
- Valid Mississippi driver’s license or out-of-state driver’s license
- CDL learner’s permit
- Completed CDL application
- Another CDL driver who is licensed in the same class for which you are applying
- Medical card
- Commercial vehicle class that you expect to drive. An inspection of this vehicle is required before testing.
- Proof of Mississippi residency with a utility bill, mortgage documents, bank statement, etc.
- Original social security card
In addition to the written and road tests, you must also pass a vision screening with a 20/40 vision score in each eye to receive a CDL.
The fees to obtain a CDL from Mississippi are:
- Non-refundable $25 application fee
- $13 for a permit
- $41 license fee after you pass the road test
- $5 per endorsement added to your CDL
More Resources on Auto Insurance in Mississippi
Department of Insurance
- P.O. Box 79 Jackson, MS 39205-0079
- Phone: 601-359-3569
- Fax: 601-359-1077