Auto Insurance in Nebraska (NE)
If You Are Paying More Than $1,140.34 on Auto Insurance in Nebraska, You Are Paying Too Much.
Insurance Calculator Inc. partners with the top-rated insurance providers in Nebraska. An average consumer saves $274.66 on auto insurance quotes with us. Consumers in Nebraska who are with existing auto insurance policies can also benefit from "switch-and-save" discounts of up to 15%.
Instant Quotes from Top-Rated Insurance Providers in Nebraska
Auto Insurance Industry in Nebraska
- An average consumer pays $1,415.00 on auto insurance
- 197 of every 100,000 vehicles are reported stolen every year
- Accident fatality rate of 1.15%
- Of all accidents: 57% are road-way accidents, 26% are intersection accidents, and 19% of all accidents involve at least 1 truck.
Nebraska residents can enjoy the distinct beauty of prairies and extended fields of wheat while driving legally in the state. For most drivers, this means complying with the state’s minimum requirements for financial responsibility by having proof of auto liability insurance.
Nebraska's Minimum Requirements on Auto Insurance
Like other states, Nebraska has ways that every driver can establish financial responsibility while driving. Generally, drivers can:
- Deposit $75,000 cash with the State treasurer
- Acquire a certificate of self-insurance with at least 26 registered vehicles
- Obtain a surety bond
- Buy an auto liability insurance policy
Most drivers opt for the auto liability insurance policy to cover a private passenger vehicle. Generally, the state of Nebraska has set minimum coverage amounts that is required for every policy. Insurance is purchased from an insurance provider that is authorized to sell insurance in the state. If you live and drive in Nebraska, you must carry:
- Physical injury liability for each person: $25,000
- Physical injury liability for each accident: $50,000
- Property damage for each accident: $25,000
You will need to show proof of insurance and financial responsibility when asked by a law enforcement official. Acceptable forms of proof depend on whether you purchased an insurance policy, surety bond or self-insurance. Generally, you should have a certificate from the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) for self-insurance or one from the state treasurer for a cash bond. The insurance provider will give you an insurance identification card.
Failing to show proof of financial responsibility will result in penalties set by the state. You could be fined up to $500 and face suspension of your driver’s license and vehicle registration. A SR-22 filing with the DMV is required to have your license and registration reinstated.
Consumer Car Licensing Information in Nebraska
Class O driver’s license is issued in Nebraska for first-time drivers and new residents. As a new resident, you are required to apply for a Nebraska driver’s license within 30 days of becoming a resident. Typically, testing requirements are determined at the discretion of the DMV office.
Any tests that you might need to take are given on a first-come, first-served basis. On test day, you will need to take the following items to the DMV:
- Proof of your legal identity
- Proof that you are a Nebraska resident
- Social security card
Cash for fees for a driver’s license, which can range between $7.50 and $26.50, are based on the length of your license:
- One year or less: $7.50
- 1-2 years: $12.50
- 2-3 years: $16.50
- 3-4 years: $21.50
- Five years: $26.50
Nebraska requires a written test, vision screening and driving test for all applicants. After you pass the driving test, you will receive an issuance certificate. This document is submitted to a county treasurer where your driver’s license photo is taken. The office mails your driver’s license within five to seven days.
Motorcycle Licensing Information in Nebraska
Typically, Nebraska issues a Class M license to residents who want to drive a motorcycle in the state. The minimum age to apply is 18 unless a 17 year old has had a provisional operator’s permit (POP) for at least one year. The driver cannot have accumulated more than three points on his or her license.
You can apply for a motorcycle license in Nebraska at any local DMV office. The requirements for applying include:
- Providing proof of legal identity
- Submitting two documents proving you are a legal Nebraska resident
- Pass a vision screening test
- Passing a written knowledge test and on-cycle skills test
The fee for your first motorcycle license is $26.50. You may also receive a Class M endorsement on your current driver’s license at no additional charge. With a valid commercial driver’s license (CDL), the fee to add a motorcycle endorsement is $12.50. A Class M motorcycle license is valid for five years.
Only a few DMV offices provide on-cycle skills testing. You will need to schedule an appointment to take this test. The DMV will waive the written knowledge and on-cycle tests if you successfully complete a motorcycle safety training class that is approved by the state.
Commercial Vehicle Licensing Information in Nebraska
In Nebraska, you must be at least 18 to apply for a commercial driver’s license (CDL) for intrastate travel. The minimum age is 21 for a CDL that permits interstate travel while driving a commercial vehicle. Generally, the state issues a Class A, B and C CDL based on the weight of the vehicle you will drive.
Class A, B and C CDLs are for vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 26,000 lbs. or more. This vehicle class should carry 16 or more passengers or transport hazardous materials in placarded amounts. A commercial learner’s permit (CLP) is available if you need to practice your driving skills in a commercial vehicle.
There are licensing procedures that each applicant for a CDL must follow. Typically, you can apply for the CDL at any examining location with the following documents:
- Proof of your full legal name and date of birth
- Proof that you are a Nebraska resident
- A valid social security card
The fee for a five-year CDL is $57.50. You will also need to meet the testing requirements, which include passing a written exam, vision screening and a driving skills evaluation. Third-party testers that are certified by Nebraska’s DMV will administer the driving skills test. Endorsements such as school bus driver or hazardous materials hauler will require additional tests.
Usually, you are also required to complete a security threat assessment provided by the Transportation security Administration (TSA) before the state of Nebraska issues a hazardous materials endorsement.
More Resources on Auto Insurance in Nebraska
Department of Insurance
- PO Box 82089 Lincoln, NE 68501-2089
- Phone: (402) 471-2201
- Toll Free Hotline (877) 564-7323