Auto Insurance in Nevada (NV)
If You Are Paying More Than $1,458.51 on Auto Insurance in Nevada, You Are Paying Too Much.
Insurance Calculator Inc. partners with the top-rated insurance providers in Nevada. An average consumer saves $386.49 on auto insurance quotes with us. Consumers in Nevada who are with existing auto insurance policies can also benefit from "switch-and-save" discounts of up to 15%.
Instant Quotes from Top-Rated Insurance Providers in Nevada
Auto Insurance Industry in Nevada
- An average consumer pays $1,845.00 on auto insurance
- 377 of every 100,000 vehicles are reported stolen every year
- Accident fatality rate of 1.19%
- Of all accidents: 51% are road-way accidents, 25% are intersection accidents, and 9% of all accidents involve at least 1 truck.
The excitement of gambling in Nevada’s casinos is not without financial risks. Likewise, driving along interstates and roads come with safety risks. As a result the state of Nevada, like other states, requires all drivers to maintain auto liability on their vehicles. This type of insurance covers your financial responsibility for an accident that you might cause.
Nevada's Minimum Requirements on Auto Insurance
Generally, Nevada has two basic options for drivers to establish financial responsibility. Self-insurance is available to Nevada residents who own 11 or more vehicles. Another option is to buy auto liability insurance from an authorized insurance provider. Most residents choose the latter and purchase a policy that carries the minimum coverage amounts. Whether you use the vehicle or not, you must have the following liability amounts on your insurance policy in Nevada:
- Physical injury to one person: $15,000
- Total physical injury for each accident: $30,000
- Property damage for each accident: $10,000
The state of Nevada has instituted an Insurance Verification Program (IVP) for insurance providers to submit monthly reports to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). These reports outline new auto insurance policies and terminations that have occurred during the previous month. This will not affect you if your insurance is kept current. However, a termination or lack of renewal date in the report results in a flag on your vehicle by the DMV.
When this occurs, the DMV mails a verification request to your home address giving you 20 days to respond. You must submit by mail or online the following:
- Verification of your name
- Vehicle identification number
- Insurance policy number
- Name of your insurance company.
You must respond with proof of insurance within 20 days. Otherwise, you will receive a certified letter from the DMV that your vehicle registration is suspended.
Generally, you should keep your insurance identification card with you at all times. Failing to maintain financial responsibility has additional penalties if you are involved in an accident or a traffic stop. The police officer can remove license plates and have your vehicle impounded.
Reinstating your vehicle registration will occur after you purchase the minimum amount of auto liability coverage. Additionally, you must pay a reinstatement fee between $250 and $1,750 before your driving privileges are restored.
A minor exception may apply if you can prove that your car was dormant during the insurance lapse period. This may occur because of seasonal conditions or mechanical problems. If this is the case, you must submit a Dormant Vehicle Affidavit along with documented proof and a $50 reinstatement fee to the DMV.
Consumer Car Licensing Information in Nevada
An application for a Class C driver’s license is required whether you are a first-time driver or new Nevada resident. The Class C gives you legal approval to drive a passenger vehicle that weighs 26,000 lbs. or less.
Generally, you can transfer a valid out-of-state driver’s license that does not have restrictions. All you need is proof of your legal identity, social security number, the $22 fee and a passing score on the vision test.
The driver’s education requirement is waived if there are no authorized classes within 30 miles from your home. Instead, Nevada will expect you to complete 100 hours of driving time, which includes 10 hours of night driving.
Appointments are not required for the written test that is required for a driver’s license. Driving tests require an appointment at a local DMV office. Tests are not scheduled one hour before the office closes. On the day of your test, bring the following documents to the DMV:
- Proof of your legal identification
- Social security card
- A completed noncommercial driver’s license application
- $25 for the written exam and road test.
Motorcycle Licensing Information in Nevada
Generally, Nevada has a simple process for obtaining a Class M motorcycle driver’s license for anyone who is at least 16 years old.
The state offers two options for residents. First, you can complete and pass a state-approved motorcycle safety course administered by a third-party provider. Second, you can pass the written knowledge and on-cycle skills tests at a local DMV.
As a new resident with an out-of-state driver’s license, you must obtain a Nevada license within 30 days of becoming a resident. You cannot keep multiple licenses from other states. You will need to transfer the out-of-state license by showing proof of identity and Nevada residency. The fee is $27. Drivers 65 and older must pay $22.
Commercial Vehicle Licensing Information in Nevada
A commercial driver’s license (CDL) is required to operate commercial vehicles in the state of Nevada. CDLs are divided into classes based on the type of commercial vehicle you will drive. You must pass a written knowledge test and any additional tests if you want extra endorsements.
In most cases, the CDL tests include a pre-trip inspection, basic vehicle control and on-road driving evaluation.
To qualify, you must:
- Submit a completed CDL application
- Show proof of Nevada residency
- Show proof of your legal identity
- Be at least 21 years old to operate a commercial vehicle outside the state
- Be at least 18 to operate a commercial vehicle inside the state
- Submit a medical examiner’s certificate to the DMV
Additionally, you must verify that you do not hold current CDLs from other states. Nevada’s DMV runs a nationwide check on your driving record before you are approved for a CDL.
You may transfer a CDL from another state within 30 days after becoming a Nevada resident. A CDL application, medical certificate and proof of legal identity are required. The fee for an original or out-of-state transfer is $87 for the knowledge and skills test; $57 is for the original or transfer CDL with knowledge tests only.
More Resources on Auto Insurance in Nevada
Department of Insurance
- Carson City Office 1818 East College Parkway, Suite 103 Carson City, Nevada 89706
- Phone: (775) 687-0700
- Fax: (775) 687-0787