Auto Insurance in North Carolina (NC)
If You Are Paying More Than $1,156.88 on Auto Insurance in North Carolina, You Are Paying Too Much.
Insurance Calculator Inc. partners with the top-rated insurance providers in North Carolina. An average consumer saves $246.12 on auto insurance quotes with us. Consumers in North Carolina who are with existing auto insurance policies can also benefit from "switch-and-save" discounts of up to 15%.
Instant Quotes from Top-Rated Insurance Providers in North Carolina
Auto Insurance Industry in North Carolina
- An average consumer pays $1,403.00 on auto insurance
- 192 of every 100,000 vehicles are reported stolen every year
- Accident fatality rate of 1.26%
- Of all accidents: 66% are road-way accidents, 20% are intersection accidents, and 11% of all accidents involve at least 1 truck.
Automobile accidents can leave lingering effects to everyone involved. Physical injuries and property damages are common occurrences. Regardless to how big or small the injuries and damages are, financial problems can arise if you do not have auto liability insurance. For this reason, North Carolina requires that every resident demonstrate financial responsibility for driving in the state.
North Carolina’s Minimum Requirements on Auto Insurance
Generally, you can show financial responsibility for driving in North Carolina by having auto liability insurance. The state has set minimum coverage amounts that must be included on every auto insurance policy. Private passenger vehicles must met the following minimum auto liability insurance requirements:
- Per accident, $30,000 for death or physical injury to one person
- Per accident, $60,000 for death or physical injury of two or more persons
- Per accident, $25,000 property damage
In addition to buying auto liability insurance, you must keep proof of the coverage at all times. Typically, insurance providers have the option of informing the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) of insurance policies. However, you are required to provide proof that you have the state’s minimum insurance. The DMV accepts a certificate of insurance or the actual insurance policy as proof.
Penalties will apply if you cancel your auto liability insurance. The insurance provider notifies the DMV when your insurance coverage stops. The DMV will mail a notice to you regarding the cancellation. Within 10 days of this notification, you must respond with proof of insurance. A fee will apply for any period where a gap of coverage occurred.
Failing to respond to the notice or obtain proper coverage may result in a 30-day license suspension. Before your license is reinstated, you must pay penalties and fees of more than $200.
Consumer Car Licensing Information in North Carolina
North Carolina issues a consumer driver’s license to every resident who successfully completes the application process. Whether you are a first-time adult driver or new resident, you can receive a Class C driver’s license to operate personal vehicles and small trucks.
You are not required to take a driver’s education course if you are 18 and older. However, you must take a written test and driving skills test as a first-time driver before a license is issued. New residents to the state must also take the written test. The driving skills test is required at the discretion of the examiner. If you are a new resident, you must complete the application process within 60 days of moving to the state.
Walk-ins at the local DMV are accepted for written tests. However, you must schedule an appointment before taking the driving test. On the day of the test, make sure you have the following:
- Proof that you are a North Carolina resident
- Proof of your legal identity and age
- A social security card
- Proof that you completed a driving education course, if applicable
You will also need to pass a vision screening and road sign test. Once you pass the tests, you must pay the $4 driver’s license fee. Class C licenses are valid for five to eight years based on your age.
Motorcycle Licensing Information in North Carolina
North Carolina’s DMV issues a motorcycle endorsement to residents who want to drive a motorcycle in the state. Basically, you must have either a provisional license, regular Class C license or a commercial driver’s license (CDL) to receive the endorsement.
The DMV requires each applicant to pass a vision screening and road sign test. Additionally, you are required to take a written knowledge and on-cycle skills tests.
Questions on the written knowledge test are designed to evaluate your knowledge of the motorcycle handbook that is provided by the DMV. Generally, you must have an understanding of safe riding practices and rules of the road while driving a motorcycle.
The on-cycle skills test evaluates your ability to handle a motorcycle in different driving conditions. The test is usually conducted in an off-street area, on a controlled course or during actual traffic.
The fee to receive a motorcycle endorsement is a nominal $1.75. This is paid in addition to the fee for a driver’s license.
Commercial Vehicle Licensing Information in North Carolina
North Carolina issues CDLs to residents who are at least 18 years old for intrastate driving of commercial vehicles. Once you turn 21, you are eligible to drive commercial vehicles outside the state.
Typically, you can apply for either a Class A, B or C CDL, which is based on the type and weight of the commercial you will drive. The following list represents the type of documentation required for a CDL application.
- Proof that you are a North Carolina resident. Acceptable documents include passports and military orders.
- Verification of your legal identity and age. Hazardous endorsements are not granted to drivers between 18 and 20 years old.
- Proof of a valid social security number
- Proof of auto liability insurance
- Clean record for personal and commercial driving.
- Other driver’s licenses that you may have. A North Carolina CDL functions as the primary license for personal and commercial driving.
- Medical certification based on federal guidelines.
It costs $15 to receive a CDL learner’s permit. This is ideal for anyone who needs to practice driving a commercial vehicle before taking the road test. The application fee for a CDL starts at $30 plus $3 per endorsement. Generally, a CDL is issued every five to eight years. However, you must pay an advanced fee of $15 per year.
Currently, North Carolina is transitioning to a five-year renewal process. A vision test and sign recognition test are required to renew a CDL. In some cases, you might also have to retake the road test.
More Resources on Auto Insurance in North Carolina
Department of Insurance
- 430 N. Salisbury Street Raleigh, NC 27603-5926
- 1201 Mail Service Center Raleigh, NC 27699-1201
- Phone: 800-546-5664 - in North Carolina Only
- Phone: 919-807-6750 - outside North Carolina