Auto Insurance in Utah (UT)
If You Are Paying More Than $1,186.61 on Auto Insurance in Utah, You Are Paying Too Much.
Insurance Calculator Inc. partners with the top-rated insurance providers in Utah. An average consumer saves $281.39 on auto insurance quotes with us. Consumers in Utah who are with existing auto insurance policies can also benefit from "switch-and-save" discounts of up to 15%.
Instant Quotes from Top-Rated Insurance Providers in Utah
Auto Insurance Industry in Utah
- An average consumer pays $1,468.00 on auto insurance
- 215 of every 100,000 vehicles are reported stolen every year
- Accident fatality rate of 0.93%
- Of all accidents: 59% are road-way accidents, 17% are intersection accidents, and 7% of all accidents involve at least 1 truck.
As a resident in Utah, you must comply with state law that requires every driver to carry auto liability and no-fault insurance. Coverage is required for every registered vehicle in the state to guarantee you can pay for injuries or property damages after an accident. Unlike other states, Utah does not have a self-insurance option for drivers to establish financial responsibility for accidents.
Utah's Minimum Requirements on Auto Insurance
Private auto liability insurance is the only way you can establish financial responsibility for the privilege of driving in Utah. Basically, state law requires two types of insurance coverage for every driver. Auto liability insurance policies must include the minimum coverage amounts for a 25/65/15 per person/accident plan:
- $25,000 for physical injury
- $65,000 for physical injury occurring in one accident
- $15,000 property damage per accident
Personal injury protection (PIP) is the second type of insurance based on Utah’s no-fault law. This additional $3,000 minimum coverage will pay for medical expenses if you are injured in an accident. You expenses are paid through PIP regardless of who is at-fault for the accident.
Proof of insurance and financial responsibility is also a requirement in Utah. Your insurance provider will give you an insurance identification card. Keep this card in your vehicle and show it to a law enforcement official after an accident or during a traffic stop.
Insurance companies will report to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and law enforcement information regarding uninsured drivers. Failing to maintain financial responsibility will result in penalties. In the state of Utah, it is a Class B misdemeanor to operate a vehicle without insurance. The fine is at least $400 for the first offense.
In addition to paying a fine, you may also have your driver’s license and vehicle registration suspended. You must pay a reinstatement fee and show proof of auto liability insurance before both are reinstated.
Consumer Car Licensing Information in Utah
The state of Utah issues two types of driver’s licenses to residents who want to operate private passenger vehicles. Class D driver’s licenses are issued for all vehicles. A driving privilege card is for residents who are not eligible to receive a social security card. Applications are accepted at any Department of Public Safety (DPS) office.
To apply for a Utah driver’s license, you must provide:
- A completed application
- Proof of driver education
- Proof of legal citizenship the U.S. such as a birth certificate or permanent residency card
- Proof of Utah residency such as a utility bill or mortgage contract
- Social security number
The state requires passage of a written test and driving skills test. You will also need to pass an eye examination and medical survey. The fee for a Class D driver’s license is $25. If you recently moved to Utah, you can transfer a valid out-of-state license without taking the driving test.
A driving privilege card is issued to residents who are unable to establish legal U.S. citizenship. Residents can receive this card by submitting proof of Utah residency and an individual tax identification number (ITIN) from the IRS.
Motorcycle Licensing Information in Utah
Utah issues a Class M endorsement to residents who have a current Class D driver’s license and want to drive a motorcycle. DPS grants an endorsement with restrictions based on the cc size of the motorcycle:
- O restriction: 90 cc or lower
- 2 restriction: 249 cc or lower
- 3 restriction: 649 cc or lower
Motorcycles greater than 650 cc do not have restrictions. An endorsement is good for any size motorcycle.
Generally, you are not required to take a motorcycle training course to receive an endorsement. You will, however, need to pass written knowledge and on-cycle driving tests. The process for receiving a motorcycle endorsement or license varies based on whether you have a Utah driver’s license.
With a current driver’s license, you can take the written and on-cycle tests to receive the Class M endorsement. If you complete a state-approved motorcycle training course, you only need to complete the written test. Adding the endorsement costs $9.50.
Without a current Utah driver’s license, you can apply for a motorcycle-only license. The written test is required before this license is issued. The on-cycle tests can be waived if you complete a state-approved training course. The cost for a motorcycle-only license is $34.50.
According to Utah’s motorcycle laws, riders under 18 must wear state-approved headgear at all times.
Commercial Vehicle Licensing Information in Utah
Obtaining a commercial driver’s license (CDL) in Utah requires training, medical certification, and passage of written and road skills tests. DPS issues Class A, B and C CDLs to residents who are at least 18 years old and want to operate commercial vehicles.
Training is provided by state-approved private companies. In most cases, these companies can also provide testing for a CDL license. As an alternative, you can take written and road skills tests at any participating driver’s license office.
Medical certification is based on federal guidelines for interstate and intrastate operation of commercial vehicles. This involves passing a Department of Transportation (DOT) medical examination by a licensed physician.
All CDL applicants must pass a general written test. Additional knowledge tests are required based on the type of endorsement needed such as hazardous materials, passenger transport or air brakes. Road skills tests consist of three sections: pre-trip inspection, basic commercial vehicle control and on-road driving.
CDL applications are accepted along with:
- A current Utah driver’s license
- Social security number
- DOT medical card
- Certificate of Driver Competency from a state-approved tester
Fees for a Utah CDL are based on the number of endorsements you need. The general written knowledge test is $40; road skills test is $60; and, endorsements are $7 each.
More Resources on Auto Insurance in Utah
Department of Insurance
- State Office Building Ste 3110 / Capitol Hill Complex 450 N State St Salt Lake City UT 84114-6901
- Phone: (801) 538-3800, (801) 538-3800
- TDD (Hearing disabled) (801) 538-3826
- Fax: (801) 538-3829