Auto Insurance in Wyoming (WY)
If You Are Paying More Than $1,185.82 on Auto Insurance in Wyoming, You Are Paying Too Much.
Insurance Calculator Inc. partners with the top-rated insurance providers in Wyoming. An average consumer saves $249.18 on auto insurance quotes with us. Consumers in Wyoming who are with existing auto insurance policies can also benefit from "switch-and-save" discounts of up to 15%.
Instant Quotes from Top-Rated Insurance Providers in Wyoming
Auto Insurance Industry in Wyoming
- An average consumer pays $1,435.00 on auto insurance
- 104 of every 100,000 vehicles are reported stolen every year
- Accident fatality rate of 1.4%
- Of all accidents: 76% are road-way accidents, 7% are intersection accidents, and 18% of all accidents involve at least 1 truck.
Driving in the state of Wyoming is a privilege and requires showing that you can handle the responsibility of this privilege. Like all states, Wyoming has set standards for every resident to follow to show financial responsibility. Before registering a personal vehicle, you will need to demonstrate that you can pay for any damages resulting from an accident that you cause.
Wyoming's Minimum Requirements on Auto Insurance
Demonstrating financial responsibility requires complying with Wyoming’s minimum standards. You have one of three options to establish financial responsibility. One option is to secure a bond with a surety company authorized in the state of Wyoming to sell bonds. Another option is to make a $25,000 deposit with the state treasurer. The third option - and most popular among private passenger drivers - is to purchase an auto liability insurance policy.
If you choose to buy an auto insurance policy, you must have the minimum requirements for Wyoming drivers. Typically, these coverage amounts include a 25/50/20 policy:
- Physical injury for each person: $25,000
- Physical injury for each accident: $50,000
- Property damage for each accident: $20,000
In addition to buying auto insurance, you must maintain proof of insurance and financial responsibility to legally drive in Wyoming. Generally, your insurance provide will issue an insurance identification card for you to keep in your vehicle. You will receive a bond certificate for securing a bond or making a deposit with the state treasurer.
The state of Wyoming also compares registered vehicles with an insured list. If you are not listed as an insured driver, you must show proof of insurance within seven days after notification. Failure to show proof or maintain financial responsibility will result in various penalties.
A first offense for not having proof of insurance is a misdemeanor and includes a fine between $250 and $750. You may also receive a six-month prison sentence. The second offence can cost $500 to $1,500 and six months in jail. Additionally, you must surrender your vehicle plates and registration until you have fulfilled these obligations.
Consumer Car Licensing Information in Wyoming
Wyoming issues a Class C driver’s license for residents who wish to drive legally in the state. The state requires a written test, vision screening and road test before a driver’s license is issued. While a driver’s education course is not required, the road test is waived if you complete one.
You can apply for a driver’s license at a local Department of Transportation office. An appointment is not required for the written test, but you will need to schedule an appointment to take the road test. On the day of your test(s), make sure you have the following documents:
- Proof of U.S. citizenship such as a valid passport, birth certificate or naturalization certificate
- Valid social security number
- Two proofs of Wyoming residency documents
- Completed driver’s license application
The application fee for a Class C driver’s license is $20. The same fee applies if you are a new resident to Wyoming and have a valid out-of-state driver’s license. Typically, you have one year after establishing residency to receive a Wyoming driver’s license. You are required to show proof of a valid social security number, complete a driver’s license application and surrender the out-of-state license.
Motorcycle Licensing Information in Wyoming
The state of Wyoming issues a Class M motorcycle license or endorsement for every resident who is at least 15 years old and wishes to driver a motorcycle. To apply, you must bring two acceptable proofs of identification a DOT office. Wyoming also requires successful completion of a written examination and on-cycle skills test. The fee for either a license or endorsement is $23.
Novice Rider and Experienced Rider motorcycle safety courses are offered through the state. Requirements for written and on-cycle tests are waived for two years if you pass the Novice Rider course. This is a 20-hour course that includes classroom instruction and on-cycle practice.
The Experienced Rider course is for residents who already have a motorcycle license. This course offers instruction on becoming a skilled rider in advanced techniques.
Commercial Vehicle Licensing Information in Wyoming
Class A, B and C commercial driver’s licenses are available through Wyoming’s DOT for residents who need to operate a commercial vehicle. Wyoming classifies commercial vehicles that have a gross combination weight rating of 26,001 lbs. or greater. Commercial vehicles are also used to transport hazardous vehicles and 16 or more passengers.
The state acknowledges a few exemptions to applying for a CDL:
- Vehicles used for emergency services
- Agricultural vehicles used by ranchers or farmers
- Military vehicles owned by the Department of Defense
To apply for a CDL in Wyoming, you must comply with the following requirements:
- Be at least 18 years old for intrastate commercial driving that does not involve hazardous materials
- Be at least 21 years old for interstate commercial driving
- Have a valid Wyoming Class C driver’s license
- Have a valid social security number
- Provide proof of U.S. citizenship
- Pass checks through the National Driver Record and the Commercial Driver License System databases
- Have a medical examination report from the federal Department of Transportation
In addition to the above requirements, you will also need to pass a general written examination and on-road assessment. You must also pass a written test for each endorsement you will need.
The on-road skills test consists of three separate tests: pre-trip inspection, commercial vehicle handling and on-road evaluation. Skills tests are administered at a state DOT office. Third-party testing is acceptable for companies that need to test their employees. Testing of the general public is not acceptable through third-party testers.
You will need to supply the type of commercial vehicle for which you are applying to take the on-road test at a state office. The fee is $40 to take the test. A four-year CDL costs $25.
More Resources on Auto Insurance in Wyoming
Department of Insurance
- 106 East 6th Avenue, Cheyenne, WY 82002
- Phone: 307 777-7401 Toll Free Number Inside Wyoming 1-800-438- 5768
- Fax: 307 777-2446